We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good bang for your buck”

Athenian Restaurant
Ranked #236 of 863 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek
Restaurant details
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and good bang for your buck”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Ate here with my little boy on a school night, looking for something hearty and quick. This restaurant did not disappoint. I ordered the Chicken Souvlaki which came with Pita Bread, a mountain of rice and yummy tzatziki sauce. Did I mention that it came with Soup (Spinach & Rice) and Greek Salad AND dessert. All this came to $10.95. My son ordered off the kids menu (chicken fingers and substituted baked potato instead of fries) and it came with a dessert for $3.95. Has a neighborhood diner feel, staff were friendly and I can understand why this restaurant that has been around for 27 years. I cannot wait to bring friends back for a casual night and I definitely want to go back and try the Greek Sampler!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Family FAVORITE!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This place has been around FOREVER and with good reason. You can get a 4 course meal (soup, salad, entree and desert) for less than $11. GREAT Greek food (try the Greek sampler), Greek salads (even come with Dolmades) and just plain ol' American food. Even the liver and onions is to die for! It's so good that relatives from out of state make a special point to go at least TWICE when they are in town. I looooove their stuffed shrimp and lamb shanks too. YUM! - I get hungry just thinking about going to the Athenian!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarapowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

If you want a family styleeal at a good price, this is the place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atrometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's Not a Greek Restaurant, and It's Not Really a Diner”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stopped in on a Sunday evening thinking the Athenian is a Greek restaurant. Realized pretty quickly it isn't. Is it value for the money in terms of the amount of food? Yes. Were there groups of retirees who seem to be regulars, were they having a nice time, and were they leaving with plenty of leftovers? Yes. Was everybody on the staff really nice and very solicitous of customers? Yes. Was the service good? Yes. But the food itself -- boring burger, fries fried more than once and then served tepid, iceberg lettuce a bit past its prime, nice piece of fish salted to the extreme. And the place could use a bit of a facelift inside. If you're a diner pro, this isn't really the place for you. For instance, breakfast isn't served all day, there's not much in the dessert case (diners always show off those over-the-top desserts) and they close pretty early. All in all, not special, not terrible.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT DINER”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

this place has a large menu with a little bit of everything, greek, italian seafood and steak..its not fancy but good food and you get enough to eat.....with dinners you get a cup of soup AND a choice of greek or regular salad.....then dessert!! great breakfast omlettes with home potatos....and you can't beat the prices! like i said, its not fancy cuisine but you get good food for your money........

Helpful?
Thank felixlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athenian Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
North Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Athenian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing