We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Booths” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewood Tavern & Grill

Stonewood Tavern & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Tavern & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 843 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Looking for the best seafood and steaks in Florida? Experience polished casual dining at your local Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant, part of the Stonewood Holdings family of restaurants.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy Booths”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been to the Stonewood Grill several times. Menu was not too extensive, but something for everyone. One thing we like is the booths. There are plenty of them and them are comfortable, provide privacy and great for visiting with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    93
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although I had heard of the Stonewood Grill before, this was our first visit. Everything was so good. I ordered the shrimp and scollops and my husband ordered pork chops--both perfect. The couple we dined with who had eaten at the Stonewood many times ordered the salmon and it was so over-spiced, they each returned it for a grilled version. This was accomplished smoothly, quickly, and with apology. I am always impressed that an error is owned and rectified. We will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachPug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food doesn't match the decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located in a strip mall, the designers did an excellent job in dividing up this restaurant. The high banquette walls make for private conversation and the restaurant has an air of sophistication to it. The ceiling is beautifully designed and masks an ugly drop ceiling.

The bread basket is marvelous, particularly the pretzels and the cranberry bread. If the kitchen could keep up the high level of the bread basket, this place would be much better off.

Other than the wonderful blue cheese burger, our food was uniformly mediocre. The Grilled grouper was woefully overcooked, the vegetable medley was undercooked, the waterlogged broccoli was sprinkled with too much dried herb (I missed a little butter and lemon). The Steak Salad was soaked with dressing and the steak was not a consistent temperature. The pork chop that was ordered medium came out competely dry.

Service was slow.

This is probably the place to go for Steaks and burgers. The value is actually pretty good, they need to get a little more consistency coming out of the kitche.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidLur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We received a gift certificate from a friend for Stonewood, and it was excellent, Everything is prepared beautifully and the seafood is fresh. I wasn't keen on the atmosphere so I didn't give it 5 stars. We also prefer outside seating. It was very cold inside. I'll never understand why restaurants in general keep their establishments so cold. They could save some money by keeping it a few degrees warmer. Other guests were also complaining.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nonnie3628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. myers
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality meal without the mega-chain noise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Big chains have predictable food, but you pay a price noise-wise with crowds. Right next to Ft. Myers' restaurant zoo strip there's a quiet place to eat in which you won't need to yell to be heard. Everything we've tried on their menu is 1st-clas, prices aren't ridiculous and service is a step above. This is where we locals go with friends to have a nice dinner and conversation. Try it out--you can hit the mega-chains any time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klavrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Tavern & Grill also viewed

 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing