We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service in a casual setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of University Grill

University Grill
Ranked #4 of 848 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The university grill is a upscale local bar and grill. From great burgers and beer,to high choice aged meats and fresh seafood. Our customers are very loyal as are our winter locals. When someone has been here for the first time there comment is why did it take me so long to find this place.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a casual setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived in time to order from the "early bird" menu, which had several well-chosen and well-priced options. The crab bisque was delicious, and the steak was a very lean cut and prepared perfectly. Everyone at the table thoroughly enjoyed their dinners.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    208
    46
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stumbled upon this by accident one evening. We were new to the area and were looking for a restaurant, and came upon this. We're glad we did! The meals are well prepared, the servers very friendly, and the decor very tastefully done. This restaurant appears to have a large following of locals who patronize it. And, it was packed on a Wednesday evening. If we are in this area again, we'll definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the better alternatives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Owned by the same principals as the local favorite Prawnbrokers, the fare and service were good. The room was packed, a lot of tables in an open space made for a noisy venue but the food and service were very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighMaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great! The "Early Bird" is fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

4:00 - 5:30 is the early bird. 8 0z. Prime Rib $11.95 with all the trimmings. Great dinner, great service, great price! Can't be beat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atrometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagrill, Manager at University Grill, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for the review. I noticed a typo, the early dining Prime Rib is $16.95. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous specials and a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

A beautifully decorated, old Florida feel to this lovely place. Being from Buffalo, NY, we found Beef on Weck, which is a Buffalo tradition. They bake their own rolls and pile thin layers of prime rib to make this perfect. My husband raved about it. I love the Chop Salad, so good and flavorful. There are multiple TV's in the bar area all on different channels, not all sports. Ceiling fans rotate slowly, palm trees are in view. This is a busy area and they are very busy for lunch and dinner hours, lots of locals for lunch. They have specials that really draw, Pasta night, Roasted Turkey and Prime Rib are a few. The location is close to the Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Center, which offers a Broadway series and other great performances. Be sure to reserve on those nights. Service is great, soft music is appreciated. We visit weekly when in the area. The hostess is from Buffalo and talked the owners into the Beef on Weck, it's a success. Dinner only on Saturday and Sundays.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneKN_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University Grill also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to University Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing