We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seafood in Fort Myers, hands down” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
Ranked #10 of 843 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Walking through the front doors, guests are greeted by the in-house seafood market, where the Prawnbroker showcases their specially chosen fresh fillets of fish and beef, hand-cut on premise, that are sure to tempt the palates of all. To emphasize their commitment to buying local and bringing you the freshest seafood Ft. Myers has to offer, you'll find our hand picked selection straight from the local waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Here you'll get a peek at the sumptuous fare that you'll soon be enjoying from their comfortable yet elegant dining room. Feast your eyes on mouth-watering Snapper, Gulf Shrimp, Softshell Crabs, Mahi Mahi, and the best Grouper Florida has to offer. Small tubs of pale pink creamy shrimp bisque stand in line next to bases for both kinds of chowder - New England style being what the restaurant is most famous for, a nod to the original owners' home region. Diners consistently return to enjoy these favorites plus the greatest Florida Stone crabs (in season) and Maine Lobsters.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Fort Myers, hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food, try the sea bass, tuna, shrimp, platters all wonderful. Good ceasar salad too. Our favorite place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billssister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    184
    53
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A landmark in Ft. Myers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great service, great fish market, great seafood, best bread and butter at the table !!!...Every time we have guest from up North we take them there and everybody will remember that dinne...r simply...the best!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank regrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
222 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“LOVELY, CROWDED, AND MOST OF ALL NOISY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This a must have reservations place. Tables are very close together and carrying on a conversation with the person across the table is almost impossible, unless you shout like the other patrons are doing. The food is excellent and the serve was quick. But you are not able to linger over your meals, as plates are being swept off the table as if they want you to leave. Next time I go, I might order an appetizer and drink in the holding room, then leave.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

On Saturday 4/20/2013, my wife, 2 friends & I arrived at Prawnbroker about 6:25pm for a 6:30pm reservation. We were immediately seated. Our server showed up within 2 minutes with fresh bread & took our drink & appetizer orders. The appetizers were very good. Our main course arrived within 15 minutes. We had 2 orders of Coconut Shrimp, 1 order of Almond Shrimp, & 1 order of Coconut Shrimp with the 6oz sirloin.

The shrimp orders were fantastic. Cooked just as we expected. Crunchy & very well flavored. The salads & veggies that came with our shrimp were geat also, as were our deserts.

The sirloin (cooked medium) was tough to cut & very hard to eat. I left half of it on the plate. And when our server asked if I wanted to take it home I declined.

I have been to the Prawnbroker many times & I will return there as I know the food is good & the service is good.
But I will NOT be getting the 6oz sirloin.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009Lancer-ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best fresh seafood and sides at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A great dinner by any standard
Drinks were top notch.
My wife had the pasta Provençal (excellent)
My grilled fresh grouper and baked potato were also excellent.
The fresh Gulf shrimp cocktail was excellent.
Great desserts
Vanilla ice cream w caramel sauce
Key lime pie was the best I have had in Florida.
A must go to place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing