We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful As Always but Room for Improvement”

Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market
Ranked #10 of 857 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Walking through the front doors, guests are greeted by the in-house seafood market, where the Prawnbroker showcases their specially chosen fresh fillets of fish and beef, hand-cut on premise, that are sure to tempt the palates of all. To emphasize their commitment to buying local and bringing you the freshest seafood Ft. Myers has to offer, you'll find our hand picked selection straight from the local waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Here you'll get a peek at the sumptuous fare that you'll soon be enjoying from their comfortable yet elegant dining room. Feast your eyes on mouth-watering Snapper, Gulf Shrimp, Softshell Crabs, Mahi Mahi, and the best Grouper Florida has to offer. Small tubs of pale pink creamy shrimp bisque stand in line next to bases for both kinds of chowder - New England style being what the restaurant is most famous for, a nod to the original owners' home region. Diners consistently return to enjoy these favorites plus the greatest Florida Stone crabs (in season) and Maine Lobsters.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful As Always but Room for Improvement”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The fish items at the Prawnbroker are as good as it gets; fresh, hot and cooked to perfection. The soft shelled crab (sauteed) is one of my favorites, the best I've had. Call ahead at noon of the day of dining to reserve your order as they do sell out and avoid waiting by making a reservation.
Now room for improvement - house salads are just blah and about as good as throwing bagged lettuce in a bowl, seriously needs rethinking. The service can be good depending on your server - last nights service was very good (Susan) but on several occasions we have been rushed through dinner with no time to relax and enjoy. If they'd fix these minor issues then I'll be giving them an Excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V7472WTjanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    202
    55
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food here is awesome! We went during "Early Bird" hours and also got great value. I love the atmosphere here, too. Overall, great visit!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Going again this March”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Will not miss a stop there. VERY good. Had a wonderful fish. This place is a bit hard to find so be sure to not just drive by it. You will not make a mistake by waiting as you might have to do. GREAT place. Food is so good and service is very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank busterSalina_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reliable”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed another visit to the Prawnbroker last week on a Monday night. Same reliably relaxed atmosphere, good service , great food. Had Pasta Proventiale with Clams. Absolutely delightful. Highly recommend( if one like strongly flavored foods).

Helpful?
1 Thank ODFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not go good!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Last evening my bride and I traveled to the Prawnbroker for dinner. This is a resturant that we visit frequently but it is some distance from home. And for this occasion -- we decided to to it. I would like to tell you that all was well -- but it was not.
First -- the food was served to us with great dispatch but NOT TOO HOT. Read -- cool. If you like baked potato, carrots and sea bass served cool on a cold plate , then you will be delighted.
Second -- we had been blessed with receiving some certificates for birthdays and what nots from this restaurant on earlier occasions and in the mail. But tonight -- not acceptable. Expired we were told.
But -- wait -- said the dining room manager. Maybe someone will figure this out and call you tomorrow. Well that did not happen.
So, cold food, an unhappy reception and no follow up.
Did I say that we were the youngest people in the house? And we are in our 70's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePageTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prawnbroker Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing