We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a glitzy chain restaurant.....just better”

Kenwood Lane Grille
Ranked #81 of 856 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lunch & Dinner, last seating at 8:00, Casual decor, Some outside seating, Beer & Wine
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a glitzy chain restaurant.....just better”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The friendly and attentive staff was only the beginning of a great dining experience. From the fresh hot baked rolls (not microwaved) to the wonderfully prepared entrees, this was an epicurean delight. If you're tired of the rush at glitzy chain restaurants you will love the homey ambience and the great food at Kenwood lane.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpd146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    49
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston121
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Maybe we were there on an off night...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The food was pretty good but it took over an hour to get our main courses and the restaurant was less than half full. It also look at least 10 minutes to get bread and water after we were seated. The restaurant was uncomfortably hot and we were all starving. I know other reviewers love it here so maybe we just went on a off night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbutterfield, Owner at Kenwood Lane Grille, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Kenwood Lane Grille is disappointed that you feel that you waited too long for your food. Our Chef does not like to rush people through their dinner and believes in letting his guests sit and relax between courses. Many of our regulars appreciate this old world approach to dining. Our homemade dinner rolls are cooked to order and they do require 8 minutes to bake. During these cooler months Chef likes to keep the dining room a little warmer for some of our guests, had you mentioned to one of the staff that you were uncomfortably warm we would have offered to move you to the outside patio where you could have been cooler. There are other tables out there and even though it must have seemed that the restaurant was half empty the outdoor seating is usually filled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After reading the rave reviews, we made a reservation and wondered where the people who wrote those reviews normally dine. It was no where near special. Food was fine, but chicken florentine over chunks of potatoe wasn't my idea of great. Waitresses were loud, room is nothing special. Not going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rider2010CapeCoralFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbutterfield, Owner at Kenwood Lane Grille, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Kenwood Lane Grille is saddened to hear of your disappointment with your meal. It states in the menu description that it has both spinach and potato and the Chef receives many compliments on how he serves his version of Chicken Florentine. We are sorry to hear that you think that our dining room is “nothing special”. We have a picture of it on the top of our Tripadvisor page and our website so potential customers can decide if our casual style of décor is right for them. Many of our regular customers look past our ambiance in favor of the food and our out of state guests are happy to know that they needn’t dress up to come for a quality meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious food in hidden location”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Caught this place while driving to Tampa. Excellent lunch selections of fresh salads, sandwiches and burgers. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggestPhilliesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“food excellent”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went with a group of 6....the chef is creative and everything was of high quality.The staff is a little to friendly and needs to tone down a bit.....the service was very good also..Would not hesitate to go back...very good value for the money spent

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonefxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenwood Lane Grille also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kenwood Lane Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing