We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN GEM”

Kenwood Lane Grille
Ranked #68 of 855 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lunch & Dinner, last seating at 8:00, Casual decor, Some outside seating, Beer & Wine
Level Contributor
235 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

You will never find this place unless you go looking for it. It is worth seeking out, however. We thought our dinners were of quite a high quality. We started with complementary fresh from the oven dinner rolls, followed by the Taste Platter of stuffed mushrooms, shrimp & potato pancakes. Then the homemade soup & salad with special dressing.

For our entree we had the Stuffed Shrimp with veggies & twice baked potato and the Wiener Schnitzel with red cabbage and spaetzels.

Everything was absolutely delicious, but of course we ordered way too much food, so we took a good bit of it home for the next day. Yummy.

Food - 4 1/2 STARS
Service - 5 STARS
Location - 3 STARS
Ambiance - 3 STARS

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    49
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ft.Myers
Level Contributor
149 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Come see why they are "The Best"”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have not met a team of people more determined to satisfy a customer and make them feel welcomed and appreciated. Dave is back in the kitchen slaving away. He works diligently to
Keep the menu fresh and new for frequent repeat customers: the Oktoberfest menu is proof of that. Jean is the waitress working the crowd. She is obviously and with good reason proud of
The work her husband turns out and she is willing to show you what others have ordered. Come try the food and you will be a return customer. We had the appetizer sampler with the potato
Pancakes, crab stuffed mushrooms and slightly spicy shrimp: I'm hungry all over again just
Thinking of them. They were quite tasty. I loved the twice baked potatoes. Nice that they were
Heated all the way through which in other places is not the case. I could go on and on but go
See for yourselves. It's worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIlol52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Artist At Work”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Tucked away on the quiet back street, Kenwood Lane off busy U S 41, & College Pkwy is the culinary studio of food perfection. A quiet Tuesday night, 5 other patrons graced this establishment. The staff interfaced with the customers as friends, all knowing each others names. The atmosphere was one of a home spun eatery with a likeable engaging staff who ernestly desired only satisfaction from their customers and a willingness to do whatever was required to insure that satisfaction. I was greated and seated by Nada at a bright booth near the window where I could peruse my paper.

Immediately, beverage orders taken( a nice full bodied Cab and water with lemon). The promise of fresh aromatic rolls and a savory cup of onion bisque. Soup & rolls arrived shortly afterward and were delicious as promised.

For the main event, I ordered Batter dipped Chicken w/ artichokes. This came with chicken atop a grilled palenta cake surrounded by the artichokes,garbanzo beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, capers and a lucious white wine reduction. I cleaned my plate, scraping the recesses with my fork. Mom would be proud, my wife... not so much.

Needless to say, at this juncture I was packed. Butttt, the staff was not finished tempting me. They ran thru strudels, Super choclaty grinache cakes, and others but I chose a fresh pound cake with chocolate and whip cream. Packed or not, it slid down with a smile, making for one very happy tummy.

The finances were inexpensive for the fare and the chef is, well, an artist. Keep in mind that other than trip advisor they do no advertising. They like it intimate and so will you. For my part, I'll be back for more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
515 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“A most definite "FIND"”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What happens when a corporate executive chef leaves the Big Time and opens a little place in an out-of-the-way resort area, with emphasis on quality food and careful preparation? It's a FIND for those of us lucky enough to stumble into the restaurant (guided by Trip Advisor). We visited October 1, just as they started the Oktoberfest menu. The Schnitzel and Sauerbraten were wonderful. The carrot soup was amazing. Now a quote from one of our group:"We had more laughter at our table than all the rest of the tables combined. The waitress/ wife of the chef didn't help matters any, as she is a hoot! As our dinners came out, she paraded them around the dining room to a chorus of 'Ooh!' and 'I want that!'." So you have a fun place with excellent food. What more could you want? Oh, yes - it isn't nearly as expensive as you would expect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I KNOW what the fuss is!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's possibly the BEST restaurant in SW Florida! I have eaten here for both lunch and dinner and have been very impressed each and every time. The food is fresh and handmade by Chef David and served by a very cordial wait staff. Friends (both local and out of state) and my family rave about this place, and for good reason! Love the quaintness of this restaurant also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenwood Lane Grille also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kenwood Lane Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing