We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i'm so sick of the crappy service here.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casita

La Casita
Ranked #158 of 843 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“i'm so sick of the crappy service here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

i eat here every so often, since it's about 3 miles from my home, but lately this place has been pissing me off. the service just sucks. every single time i have gone, someone in my party has mentioned the crappy service. you just can't NOT notice it. the waitresses are surly, they forget that you need utensils, they don't bring the check. they have no social skills whatsoever, and they stink at their job. once i asked about a menu item and the wait person, clearly addled, walked away, ostensibly to find out. she never came back. someone else eventually came and took our order. i didn't even bother to ask again.

the male servers are better than the female ones here, but i've grown weary of them too. last week, in an insane thunderstorm, i called ahead to get take-out. the phone rang literally 20 times each of the 3 times i called. no one ever picked up. when i got there, i asked the waiter if i had the right number. he just said yes. no explanation, no apology, just a blank stare. then he looked at me like i was nuts when i ordered something that required the always-difficult bean-for-meat substitution.

god, i hate the waitstaff here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    96
    38
    17
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Value for Mexican Foods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first visit to this place. We had a group of 6. The place was packed at 6:45PM on a Monday in July. They set up 2 round tables for us since there were only 3 tables available. The chips and house salsa (fresh tomatoes, cilantro) were good. The Sangria ($4.50) was not bad. XX on draft is $2.75 and domestic draft $1.95. The fish tacos (3 tacos $13.50) were very good, plenty of fish and tasty. The Carnitas was also good and enough for leftovers. The soft taco combo was enough for 3 people. All entrees come with Mexican rice & refried or pinto beans. The server recommended refried beans and were very good. We noticed that most customers leaving had a box to take home. The portions are plenty and a very good value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent ... as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We eat here after work. It's a fun place to unwind with cold drinks, delicious food, great service. We've been coming here at least once a month since it opened. "The purple place" is one of our favorite 'local' places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican taste.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Good taste almost like having dinner at Mexico, service was fast at least because I stop in a wed, it was a lil bit busy but nothing hectic the average wait per table was between 20-25 mins but the chips and house salsa makes time enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lecksone86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have eaten lunch at La Casita and it was an enjoyable. We thought we would give it a try for dinner and were disappointed. We did not find the entrees as good as they were at lunch time. The service was good and the cost of the meal was decent. I would recommend La Casita for lunch, but I don't know if I would recommend it for dinner. Maybe we should try it a second time to be able to give it a recommendation for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grammie880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing