We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...”
Review of Shrimp Shack

Shrimp Shack
Ranked #29 of 861 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Franklin, NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Friday night, middle of winter, cold "snap" in Fort Myers and there was a 30 minute wait to get in the Shrimp Shack. After we finished our meal, the wife and I agreed; it certainly was not worth the wait even in agreeable weather. The best part of both our meals were the French fries...can you believe that!

The crab cake was mushy, the scampi "unexciting", the oysters under-cooked, runny and mushy, the scallops tasteless, the salad old and freezer cold, the mushroom appetizer one step above pitiful, (deep-fried almost to oblivion). But those fries were to die for...perfect!!! And, the beer was cold, (it was from Milwaukee I think).

All total, not worth the effort or the wait...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanJan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    127
    57
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“I love their clam strips and coleslaw”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the place I go for clam strips. Not too greasy. I love love love the coleslaw!

Their Cape Coral location closed so luckily I work near this location. My coworker got the white fish sandwich. She like it.

Our super server brought over the dessert platter. There were 6 different dessert options. 5 cakes and one cheesecake. I got the German Chocolate cake and Carrot Cake to go. Can't wait to try them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DessertsDivaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Consistent and very good at what they do.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

While this is a full-service restaurant, their seafood is the reason for going there. We were there last night. I had fried shrimp. The dinner order is a dozen very large shrimp, in a not overpowering coating. The sauces (cocktail, tartar and the sauce for onion rings) are home made. My wife had the daily special, which was a fish topped with mango salsa (they told us made with locally grown mangos) which she enjoyed. We started with onion rings, clearly freshly cut and breaded, which were excellent.

All and all a very good experience. By the way, Shrimp Shack has lots of coupons, so be on the lookout for them!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staten_Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Value, fast service”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Four of us went on a Sunday at around 5 pm. We were seated immediately and had a choice of a booth or table.
We all got the day's special, which was soup, seafood selection (we all chose shrimp), 2 sides, and banana pudding, all for $11! One got it broiled and said it was a little spicy. The rest of us got fried and it was very good. We all received 8 or 9 decent sized shrimp.
I paid extra for the onion rings and was glad I did. They looked to be home made with a delicious hint of pepper. The Cole slaw was very good. The pudding tasted like it was from a can but what do you want for 11 bucks?
Our server Steve L. did a fine job and we were not kept waiting for anything.
We will eat here again when we are in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KurtSrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The White Fish entree is awesome!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I love Shrimp Shack's White Fish dinner. It comes 3 ways, fried, grilled or blackened. I get it blackened and it is awesome. My friend got it fried and it was also very, very good. It also comes with two side dishes. Here a few of the sides, applesauce, french fries, mashed potatoes, green beans or house or Cesar salad. Shrimp Shack other dinners also very good. This is one of the best dollar values for eating in Fort Myers. I have never had a bad meal. Shrimp Shack has beer and wine but no liquor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gchalms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Shack also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shrimp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing