We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food not such great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar

Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar
Ranked #45 of 843 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Los Cabos Cantina! Simply the freshest Tex-Mex Food and the best Margaritas & Cocktails you will find this side of the Rio Grande! We are located in the heart of the Fort Myers Downtown River District and we are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner. With a comfortable and inviting look and feel we are sure that you will feel right at home. We offer 66 top-shelf tequilas, a wide variety of handcrafted cocktails, all the Tex-Mex food staples you would expect and some you might not. We are looking forward to seeing you soon in the Cantina!
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food not such great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the food here, it was a good quality Mexican. The choice on menu was extensive and having chosen different meals we all agreed they were very tasty. Our only downside was the waitress who seemed that it she would rather have been anywhere else but serving us. It's not as if it were busy and she was rushed off her feet.

Despite this, we would probably return and hope for a different waiter next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dking2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nils R, Owner at Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear dking2001: We will definitely work on the staff aspect, to ensure that you have a better service experience next time! We are however glad that you liked our new food direction!
Thank you again for your review of our restaurant, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your honest feedback! While good feedback is great, critical feedback is critical to making us better. With best regards, Los Cabos Cantina Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    136
    66
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

You won't be disappointed! The food is great. The margaritas are Awesome! The new chef is amazing and bringing some fresh new changes to the menu. You have to try the ceviche! It is loaded with fresh shrimp and scallops along with plenty of other fresh ingredients. The salsa and chips are a great way to start. The tacos are great. My friend tried the chef's special blackened Mahi and she raved about it and the black beans and cilantro lime rice with mango salsa on top. The menu changes are positively wonderful! We will be make Los Cabos a regular place to eat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lplaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGFtMyers, Guest Relations Manager at Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Lplaney for your recent visit to our Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar.

We are always thrilled to get feedback; especially when it's positive about our recently new spot downtown. We have spent a lot of time on our menu to make it outstanding for our guests. We look forward to serve you again soon.

Best Regards,
Ford's Garage USA management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida, United States
1 review
“Awesome Tex-Mex!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I love Cabo! It is both a great place to bring the kids for a casual dinner and a great place to meet friends for drinks. They have an awesome menu - you have to try their tableside guac! - and their waitstaff are always super friendly!

Only one complaint... it is always warm in the restaurant! Dress appropriately!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGFtMyers, Guest Relations Manager at Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for business Jessica C at our Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar Downtown.

We enjoy to hear you and your family love our restaurant. We appreciate all of your feedback that you have given us. We also had mentioned the problem to the management staff. We are thrilled to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Ford's Garage USA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Upscale without being pretentious, and exceptionally fresh food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lunch offerings include an outstanding bowl of seasoned rice, black beans, pico, and either beef or chicken, for $9 ($4 for the house margarita if you're in the mood). Ask for a table serving of tortilla chips and salsa - amazingly fresh tasting! I'm told by server Ambyr that they make everything fresh from scratch, and I believe it - best salsa I've had in years. Also tried the tortilla soup - excellent tomato-broth based combination of fresh ingredients. Excellent value, perfect location (close to the Hotel Indigo in the historic quadrant of downtown).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMcNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGFtMyers, Guest Relations Manager at Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you ChrisMcNeil for your recent visit at our Los Cabos Cantina Downtown. We appreciate your positive feedback about our location. We strive to make our food as authentic as possible. We will also notify our chef that he is doing a great job. We hope to serve you again soon.

Best Regards,
Ford's Garage USA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lightening fast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went during Art Walk in August. I love the way they notify you, via your cell phone, when your table is ready. That frees you up to explore downtown Ft. Myers while you wait.

Table was ready in 20 minutes. We got seated & visited by our waitress right away. Our chips/salsa came in 5-10 minutes & our food appeared soon after!

We both ordered the 3 tacos ( got one beef, one chicken, & one pork ). They were great! We requested sour cream & that came quickly, too!

This wasn't our first time there. It's always been great & we'll return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGFtMyers, Guest Relations Manager at Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your business Debbie F. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with our Los Cabos Cantina Downtown. It's always good to hear feedback; especially when it's positive. We hope to serve you again soon.

Yours Truly,
Ford's Garage USA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Los Cabos Cantina and Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing