We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable meal!”

Fancy's Southern Cafe
Ranked #23 of 857 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Boonville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had heard that Fancy's was a great place to go so decided to try it for lunch.....and was very impressed! Love the interior of dining room and also included is a great bar and lounge area.....really liked the auditorium seats from my hometown!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Czep13309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    127
    51
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome interior great food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Food and service were excellent. Had the shrimp and grit and was very pleased. Was very writer inside and the decors was really neat. Absolutely recommend

Helpful?
Thank HungarianHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Fancy's Southern Cafe”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had dinner at Fancy's in August 2013 for the birthday celebration of my great friend, Linda. The restaurant was very charming with lovely details and décor that you can’t imagine from the outside. The staff was very friendly and the service very good. We had their famous fried chichen and other dishes. The fried chicken was fresh and perfectly fried. The home made buttermilk syrup is absolutely great! The presentation of the dishes is also very nice. As other review, my only complaint is that they didn’t serve any type of bread before dinner. I would recommend this restaurant. Sorry if my English is not perfect but I am not English mother tongue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FedericaRoma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good southern classics”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very good overall.

The service, food, and decor are all excellent.

Everything is tasty - the home made buttermilk syrup is really outstanding.

A few notes: etouffee was more of a gumbo - reduced too far and became too salty; cheddar grits are okay, but not spectacular.

And please add some more vegetarian options. I like to bring friends & family and they are left with pretty much two choices - grits or plain waffles - so we don't come as often.

I could convince more people to come if there were creative entree salads (grilled peaches), a tomato / onion tart, a sweet potato hash with eggs, etc.

Or if there was a full liquor bar with fresh mint juleps...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecommonwealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As a lot of places here in SWFlorida you won't find this place unless someone tells you about it as it is in the back of a street mall. From the outside you can't imagine how cute the decoration of this small restaurant is. The atmosphere is great and our server did a great job. The white wine sangria was very good. We started with fried green tomatoes (really good!) and I had the chicken pot pie with cheddar grits and sweet potato soufflé. The chicken pot pie was very good but the sides were AMAZING! I wish I got more cheddar grits, best grits I have ever eaten. My husband had chicken and waffles, he enjoyed it. He wishes he had ordered the syrup on the side as it was a little too much for him but it was still good. The presentation of the dishes is also really nice. We live really close, we will be back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AVGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fancy's Southern Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fancy's Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing