We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in SWFL”

Fancy's Southern Cafe
Ranked #24 of 856 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A gem in SWFL”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

There are so many great things to say about this restaurant! I am so impressed by the quality and quantity of the food. I have been there twice (the second time I decided that my husband HAD to try it) and have always had a good dining experience. The servers are wonderful and very attentive. They are so friendly the moment you sit down. Make sure you try the chicken and waffles! They are just to die for! The syrup they use is just amazing! One of my favorite places to go to in Fort Myers for sure!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    126
    49
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food good but too noisy”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent; had chicken and waffles. But the noise level of a lot of people in a small restaurant was so high it was difficult to hear others at table. Owner prefers maintaining visual atmosphere to installing sound buffers. Bathrooms inadequate. Service slow but friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sruediger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Awesome food great prices excellent service. We will be coming back to try everything on the menu. Had the crab cakes and the shrimp and grit and fell in love with Robbie our server. He gave us the best service we had the three months we were in FL.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good southern style food. Nice restaurant with good vibe. Food is very southern and well done. Excellent service, good place for a casual meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A taste of Southern cooking!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have had dinner at Fancys twice. The first time the portions were large the second time not so much. I had the liver and onions which were good the first time but tough the second time. My husband had the catfish which was excellent. I had collard greens which were over salted the first time but delicious the second time. I think they need to get consistent if they want to be considered a true southern style resturant in Ft. Myers. We have had better southern food in Savannah, Charleston and other states. The service needs improvement but I would definitely recommend dining here as I think they will get better in the future. Good prices for the selections.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmik1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fancy's Southern Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fancy's Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing