We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fancy's Southern Cafe

Fancy's Southern Cafe
Ranked #25 of 812 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our sixth visit to Fancy's and they are great - consistent - and match wines with meals to perfection. Tonight 12 of us went to dinner - everything was superb and the service was fabulous. Could not have asked for a beter evening!!!!!!! Crab cakes - filet - chicken - ribs - frog legs... were all wonderful! Top quality all around

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    97
    40
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great independent southern home cooking in Fort Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Dined here for the first time last week because of a friends recommendation. I loved everything about it. It's small but has a open kitchen and a kwirky decor that I thought was great. The menu is compact but has a great range giving you many different entree options. I tried the signature chicken and waffles and all I can say is yum!! I wasn't sure if I was eating breakfast, dinner or dessert but loved each bite while I was trying to decide. The others in my party also enjoyed their meals as well. They don't have a full liquor bar but it was fine with me since I'm a beer and wine guy and both of these optilns hac great value. I can't wait to go back! Well done chef!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattfales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great southern food in an out of the way location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had lunch at Fancy's and all five of us tried a different menu item. The chicken and waffles was delicious, with a large boneless chicken breast fried to perfection and a caramel syrup that really enhanced the flavor. The chicken pot pie was large enough for sharing, and the country fried steak was a big hit as well. All of the menu items fit the comfort food bill. The atmosphere is country rustic without being tacky, with reclaimed wood used throughout. This place has only been open a short time. I believe it will develop quite a following.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A great new spot in Fort Myers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Had to try this place out. Went for lunch. Awesome little place with cool decor. Food was outstanding! Went back 2 days later...

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stumbled in to this new little gem, hidden for sure and well worth the trip.

Apparently just opened in the last few weeks and the food and service were amazing.

A true southern food stop. Fried Okra, Fried Green Tomatoes, Chicken and Waffles etc.

Everyone enjoyed the food and the owner was present in the dining room and talking with guests.

If you have a reason to be the area, take the time to go find it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAexptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fancy's Southern Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fancy's Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing