We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice...”
Review of Rock Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rock Lake Resort
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Think twice...”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

...before you book this motel and especially if you have a baby/small kid. The smell of Chlor is terrible and if you plan to share the bed with your kid just forget it as it is too small.

Besides that, the furniture are too old with broken parts - avoid rooms 20-22 as the noise from the street is really a problem to sleep.

Too expensive for what you get!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank katischulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    59
    32
    16
    22
See reviews for
45
91
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for one night and it was raining so we didn't get to enjoy walking around the lake, but we did enjoy it from our covered patio. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean and welcoming. The office is across the street (one way) and not easy to get to if you miss it the first time. The only problem we encountered was a sewer smell in the bathroom when we turned the fan on. It went away when we turned the fan off. We did not call the office to report the problem or I'm sure they would have moved us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Many years ago when my grandparents traveled by car to Florida from Maine, they would stay at "motor courts". This little gem is exactly that, and was built in 1947, which makes it an official Senior Citizen by American standards. It is important to remember that when this motor court was built, Palm Beach Boulevard was narrow and ran in two directions; now it is three lanes and is all one way traffic. Lakeside cottages are on the left side of the Boulevard and the office is on the river (opposite) side of Palm Beach Boulevard. At one time, there was plenty of space between the office and the Boulevard. No longer, since the Boulevard is so wide that the office has barely enough room for a sidewalk in front of it. Poor planning on the part of the City of Palms, certainly not Rock Lakes' fault!
So, as you approach Rock Lake, you do drive through a rough part of the city, but I've stayed here several times and never felt unsafe. Every city has a working class neighborhood and one must drive through it to arrive at Rock Lake. Truly, it is a wonder to me that someone has not bought this property and turned it into a giant, generic, ugly condo or hotel (that completely surround this property). Rock Lake Resort is a piece of the past and has been beautifully maintained and updated as much as needs to be done, while still maintaining its true Old Florida style. The beds are very comfortable with good quality Beautyrest mattresses (I looked). Most rooms have small refrigerators and microwave ovens so a tired traveler can grab a meal without having to leave their room. The Lakeside rooms (tiny duplexes really) all have small kitchenettes with a two burner stove, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator, cookware, dishes and cutlery, and and a very small sink for washing dishes and glassware. Perfectly adequate for the kind of cooking one would do in a small space. The bathrooms have been redone to perfection with very high quality materials and workmanship; pedestal sinks and large showers with good water flow. All floors are ceraminc tile which is most appropriate for Florida living. All rooms have sitting areas as well as good closet and dresser space. Free wifi has been added since my last visit. All rooms have high ceilings and good quality ceiling fans which often make running the air conditioner unecessary.
Each room in the Lakeside cottages has its own back porch with comfortable seating, which is open to the air. Dolphin water fountains are spaced evenly around the "lake" and the water sounds effectively mask the traffic noise from the Boulevard. Sheets and towels are plain white, of good quality and there are plenty of them. The pool is well maintained and there are a number of quiet benches and seating areas around the property for relaxing and reading. The nature trail in back of the Lakeside cottages takes you through Billy Creek and is just the right activity after a day relaxing by the pool. There are tennis courts available and canoes and kayaks to borrow at no charge. There's also a ping pong table under cover in the laundry room area.
Courtside rooms are very close to the Boulevard and do not have the luxury of the fountains to mask traffic noise; however, the rooms are priced accordingly. Courtside rooms are very bit as comfortable as Lakeside but one must cross Palm Beach Boulevard to access the amenities offered. What Rock Lake Resort is NOT is a fancy "big box" hotel or motel, and does not have room service. It is a beautifully preserved "motor court" which is well run by excellent management. Not many of these places exist anymore in Florida (or anywhere else for that matter). It does have a few eccentricities, the hot water does take a long time to get to your room if you are on the opposite end from the machinery, but I always had plenty of hot water for showers. The sprint across Palm Beach Boulvard can be somewhat intimidating, but again, The City of Fort Myers created that issue. On Sundays there is no housekeeping service but really folks, just ask for extra towels on Saturday if this is an issue for you. Or you could drape your damp towels over the chairs on your private back porch to air dry, perhaps feeling slightly virtuous that you are helping the environment!
This month, at the last minute, I needed a room just for one night and was traveling solo. As always, Heather placed me in just the right room with two twin beds. I specifically requested a Courtside room, since other reviewers have complained about this part of the property. (My first experience at Rock Lake Resort was a stay in a Courtside room several years ago. My dog and I were perfectly comfortable during our three week stay.) Improvements and maintenance are evident every time I visit. The courtyard has beautifully maintained pavers, the gardens are lovely and well cared for (jasmine was in bloom and pink hibiscus this visit), the tile roof is well kept and the central fountain has been refurbished but alas, has no running water. (Yet.) So all in all, Rock Lake Resort is as good as ever, and in some ways even better than when I first visited.
I took the time to take several photographs, mostly of the Courtside area. Do notice the enormous condominiums behind Rock Lake's buildings. Staying at Rock Lake Resort is always a pleasure for me. Friendly efficient management (and they remember you on your return visits!), spotlessly clean rooms (yes they use cleaning products, air out the room if it bothers you), fluffy towels, great showers, spacious bathrooms and very comfortable beds. And please remember, hotel cleaning staff are not among the highest paid workers in America. If your room is clean and comfortable please consider leaving a gratuity. I usually leave a five dollar bill for a one night stay and when staying longer average three dollars a night. Housekeeping staff is always appreciative of this small gesture.
Finally, there is a beautiful city park just around the corner from Rock Lake, an easy walk on safe streets through a residential neighborhood. There is a community center there and a pier which ends at a lovely gazebo; perfect for enjoying a walk with your four legged companion and taking in the sunset. If you are so inclined, this property is also within an easy walk to downtown Fort Myers with many clubs and restaurants and it's also very near the trendy River District. Honestly, there is nothing I don't like about staying here.
To those who do not appreciate the unique quality of Rock Lake Resort, consider staying at one of the Big Box hotels just across the river. They will charge you more money, every room will be exactly the same, and if you ever return they certainly won't remember you or your dog by name. Many thanks again to Heather and her excellent staff for another memorable stay in Fort Myers.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are "lakeside", but "courtside" rooms as just as comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Some units are around a little lake (pond..) but unfortunately we were on the other side, close to a huge appartment tower . The all thing looks gloomy , rooms are shabby and are not done and towels not changed on Sundays .. Disappointing and definitely not worh the price...Nobody at the reception after 8.00pm and nobody answers when U call...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Londra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Rock Lake is a good place to stay, handy for the I-75 and most places North and East of Fort Myers.

The lakeside units are the best rooms with a pleasant situation next to the lake. These units though are very small and compact. While they do have a kitchen, they do not have an oven or dishwasher and space is very limited.

The units were clean and tidy with very clean and fresh linen replenished daily, even on a Sunday, although we had been told that housekeeping did not work on Sunday.

The porch overlooked the lake, this was very pleasant watching herons and osprey in action. The only drawback was the road noise from the adjacent road, this did tend to invade what is otherwise a potentially very peaceful setting.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Elvis-World-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family enjoyed staying at the Rock Lake Resort. It was clean and quiet. The cottages were very comfortable. The amenities could have been better. It was a hassle to cross a busy road to get to the office to get any keys and paddles for the one canoe and 2 kayaks offered. The tennis court was in need of resurfacing. The only real issue we had was there was no housekeeping on Sundays. We stayed Saturday through Monday. We thought the housekeeping should be daily.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra to stay in the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This little oasis lives up to its reputation. Located along the roadway flanked by royal palms that leads into downtown Fort Myers (also a fun place to explore), this quaint cluster of cottages is charming and well maintained. The location is a short distance from I-74 and SR41, so easily convenient to the suburbs, too. We walked through the nearby historic district and downtown. The yacht basin is about a mile, so convenient for that as well. The porches overlooking the "lake" are private and accessed via French doors which we left open. What a wonderful retreat!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and feature a view; the back of the property would have the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seawitchflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
1.6 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#31 of 59 in Fort Myers
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#39 of 59 in Fort Myers
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Lake Resort

Property: Rock Lake Resort
Address: 2937 Palm Beach Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33916-1504
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock Lake Resort is within walking distance of downtown Fort Myers, 4miles west of I75 & 1/2 hr to Beach- kitchenette cottages overlook tranquil lake-beautiful landscaping-Handicap & hearing impaired accommodations-small pet welcome-amenities include lighted tennis court, ping-pong, canoeing (all equipment provided) - picnic/grilling areas beside creek-heated pool-housekeeping provided-laundry facilities on premises. We are so confident that you'll like our resort. Give us a try! You will be happy you tripped onto our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rock Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Lake Hotel Fort Myers
Rock Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing