We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and will go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Lake Resort
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent and will go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

checked this place out as it was on our list of places to check. Quaint cottage, lovely, clean, peaceful. Each cottage has a patio which looks over a small 'lake'. Free use of tennis court, canoe, kayak and pool. Small walking trail on property. Small municipal park with fishing pier within a few minute walk. Corner store next door if you forgot anything. Kitchenette had everything we needed. Staff friendly, helpful. We would go back anytime and would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: cabins on each end of the circle get either morning or afternoon sun, middle of circle not so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12happycanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    32
    16
    21
See reviews for
43
89
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Not something you would expect to find in a busy city, quaint and clean cabins with woods and a touch of serenity.
The place has had some updates and is kept very clean. The grounds and amenities can't be beat in downtown Fort Myers, there is a wonderful walk way along the river thru the woods that made me feel at home and not in a big city.
We really enjoyed the cute little lake with all the fish & turtles, they love crackers and all come for dinner. The porch is a great place to relax and read. It was a very quiet place except for the busy street on one side of the resort but you are in the city.
I gave it a 4 because of value, uniqueness & cleanliness which is important to me. I own a B&B and I would replace a curtain with holes in it just because it looks bad, 1st impressions you know.
The rooms were big enough and kitchens have all you would need, I love the free coffee. The bathrooms have been updated with a pedestal sink, nice shower & tile floors. The pool was nice but they should invest in some better lounge chairs. All in all you won't find any thing like this for the value in this city so I would recommend it.
The pizza place across the street has a huge menu & makes quick meals easy. The one way street was the worst part of staying here, we had a tough time finding our way back so bring along a map of the area.

Room Tip: T'm guessing the lower # rooms will get hot water faster, cuz our room took 5-7 minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixoninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I am traveling with a group of 3 on a business trip to Ft. Myers, FL and we were booked to stay at the Rock Lake Resort. We called before arrival and let them know that we would be arriving after hours and they were very accommodating. They are incredibly courteous, and strive to go above and beyond. We were having a package overnighted from Raleigh, NC, and the front desk woman offered to come in and open early to help ensure we get our package on time. Even though UPS delivered before she arrived early, she had already placed phone calls in order to get the package re-delivered by the end of the day. I have never had someone offer to come in to work early to make sure we got our package on time. I was amazed, but she felt as though it was no big deal. It was a huge deal to us.

One of my co-workers is a caffeine addict and after asking for coffee on the first day, they just automatically make it for her every morning. Friendly house keeping staff as well.

Awesome place in general. Free kayaking, canoeing, tennis, heated pool and not far at all from the downtown district. About 30-45 minutes from the beaches. Incredibly comfortable beds.

If I ever come back to Ft. Myers, I will most definitely be staying at this place again, and recommending it to everyone I know traveling to the area.

Room Tip: Also have rooms available with kitchen in them. Useful for longer trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Recently had the pleasure of finding this quaint resort area in Ft. Myers. Had occasion to be in the area for a couple of nights, and, not knowing what was available, we stumbled upon this lovely resort. We stayed in the lakeside cabins and could not have been any more pleasantly surprised. Renting two rooms, one duplex-type cabin, we had all the privacy we wished and still able to enjoy the company of our friend who accompanied us and stayed in the other side of our cabin. The accomodations were very clean, larger than normal, and very well manicured grounds. Our favorite was enjoying the overly large patio which overlooked the "lake". While it was more of a pond, we simply adored this resort. We are planning to return again and again. Nice to know that these types of resorts still exist without having to spend exhorbitant amounts of money. The staff was very pleasant upon our check-in and they left us alone! Such a nice perk!

Room Tip: I would definitely choose the lakeside cabins if you are able...they are located across the street f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Tucked away near downtown fort myers is this great clean friendly resort that is very kid friendly, we loved the canoe, nature trail and that we were so close to downtown.

Room Tip: get the rooms where the patios face east the other side is too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Drove by dozens of times and wanted to check it out. My wife to be surprised me with a night there for my birthday. We were so surprised at what we found we are looking to have our wedding there. Don't miss out n this fort myers gem

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicalrentalswfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

After reading so many excellent reviews I decided on choosing Rock Lake because it seemed like something fun and different. Also we needed a pet friendly place to stay.

*NOTE: They charge $10/night PER pet.. this is neglected to be mentioned on their website.

The office is on one side of the road and the lake view rooms are on the opposite side of the road. Which isin't a big deal but it seemed like the manager, Heather, was running the entire place single handedly. The office was always locked with her cellphone number on the door for assistance. It was inconvenient to have to call her every time you need something but she was always prompt to come assist. She was even cleaning the rooms herself.

I did like the fact the rooms were very clean and the bathroom towels are nice and SOFT. I hate when places have rough towels so this is a major thumbs up for me! ONLY issue with the room is the beds are very small.. sopposedly a queen but my fiance was sure it was a double. After the 1st night we didnt sleep well so Heather moved us into cabin #11 which has two beds put together and it was a million times better. The entire resort was practically EMPTY with maybe 1 or 2 other guests so it was nice and quiet.

The pool was clean but a little chilly and they need to invest in some decent chairs for by the pool. There were only a few chairs and the ones they have are old and broken. Also there were ant hills by the edge of the pool and a bunch of those little red ants. Next to the pool is a covered area that has pool bathrooms, ice machine, and coin op washing machines/dryers. The washing machines are very old.. again, one was broken and need some attention (dirty). There is no change machine so had to go across the street to get quarters but the office was closed so went to the pizza place next door for quarters. Again, not a huge deal but inconvenient.. they should really just hire someone to sit in the office instead of guests having to hunt down Heather.

I probably wouldn't stay here again usless I had cabin #11 with the bigger bed. Paid $115/night plus $20/night for our dogs.. not bad but not great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dooberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
1.8 mi away
Edison at Midtown
Edison at Midtown
#24 of 58 in Fort Myers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#30 of 58 in Fort Myers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#28 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Lake Resort

Property: Rock Lake Resort
Address: 2937 Palm Beach Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33916-1504
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock Lake Resort is within walking distance of downtown Fort Myers, 4miles west of I75 & 1/2 hr to Beach- kitchenette cottages overlook tranquil lake-beautiful landscaping-Handicap & hearing impaired accommodations-small pet welcome-amenities include lighted tennis court, ping-pong, canoeing (all equipment provided) - picnic/grilling areas beside creek-heated pool-housekeeping provided-laundry facilities on premises. We are so confident that you'll like our resort. Give us a try! You will be happy you tripped onto our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rock Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Lake Hotel Fort Myers
Rock Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing