We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sanctuary”

Calusa Nature Center and Planetarium
Ranked #44 of 112 things to do in Fort Myers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Center promotes education and awareness of the natural systems of Southwest Florida, and to foster a deeper understanding of earth and space sciences.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

It was a wonderful experience with my daughter and her cousins. They had a chance to interact with the turtles and feed them. The animals were well cared for and the outdoor setting was nothing like a zoo. It had a camping feel to it. The planitarium was nice but we unfortunatly missed the show. I most definately will be going back again. Fun time and places to sit and eat your brought lunch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    31
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Several animals, great walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were here during a fossil exhibition, which was interesting. We enjoyed the lecture in the planetarium, animal sanctuary, and nature walk. Great for a family.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dyan_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great place for the family. They have show times so be sure to find out what the times are. www.calusanature.com
The Planetarium show is good. The quality of the screen is a little faded but it is a good show! Look out for Wiggy the cat! She just might hop up on your lap and visit you while you watch the show. She is very sweet.
The nature center has several out side animal exhibits worth seeing. Inside also. The skunks were fun to see and there are other animals inside also. The snake show was good and you can pet the snake's with the help of the snake handler. I loved the little Screech Owls, they are so cute. This would be a good place to enjoy a out door picnic lunch under the covered area in the park. If you can take the summer heat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaimhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We were on vacation and the weather was rainy...chose this place off trip advisor and we were very happy! I have 15 yr old and a 5 yr old and we all enjoyed it. Lots of animals, nice planetarium show and best of all a knowledgable/friendly staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wrightfamilywpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port charlotte, florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Took a 5 year old boy & 6 year old girl. They both had a great time. The price was incredibly reasonable. Between the animals inside & outside, the animal show & the planeterium we spent about 2.5 hours there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank heathermesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calusa Nature Center and Planetarium also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Calusa Nature Center and Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing