We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE MOST AUTHENTIC MEXICAN FOOD AROUND!”
Review of La Fogata

La Fogata
Ranked #327 of 855 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“THE MOST AUTHENTIC MEXICAN FOOD AROUND!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I just ate at La Fogata restaurant in Fort Myers for the first time. It is in a strip mall near Island Rd. and next to a State Farm office. The restaurant is clean and simple. The food is Fabulous, Delicious and Fresh!!!

My friend had Enchiladas with Mole sauce. Absolutely wonderful with a little kick to it! Not many places offer mole sauce, so it was a treat! I had the marinated pork on tostadas and a sope. It was all so fresh and delicious. The avocado was perfect. I loved the black refried beans and the rice. The chips and salsa were good, especially the fresh homemade salsa. My friend has been to Mexico several times, and she said this is the first Mexican food in the U. S.A. that took her right back to Mexico.

The prices were very reasonable. We had a wonderful and tasty lunch for just $6.99 each. The dinners ran around $10-$14 dollars or so. A real bargain for Mexican food you are not going to find anywhere else! So glad we found this gem. This is the only Mexican place I plan on going to in the future!! It is in a large room and family friendly. Staff is very prompt and courteous. Wonderful service!

Another of its unique offerings are grilled cactus, quail and rabbit. This is the place to eat!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ohiomrspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is one of the most authentic Mexican restaurants I know in the area that offers excellent food, friendly service and a clean establishment. The new location is much bigger than before. The guacamole is made fresh and in my opinion, is reasonably priced. Complimentary chips and salsa are served fresh. They give you three different types of fresh salsa that are each distinct in their flavor and delicious in their taste. The owner is on site and is very personable and professional. My only request is to offer shredded beef as a menu option.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 39Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Real Mexican, but not perfection.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Steak taco and sopa was flavorful, but meat was overdone. Chips were just ok, but the three different salsas were great (homemade). Flautas were also overcooked. Rice and black beans were flavorful, but needed a kick, so added some of the salsa. Waitresses were very friendly and worked together. They offered guacamole, but did not tell you it cost extra ($5!). Not a bad place, but we'll keep looking for the perfect Mexican restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank foodfreakftmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FOUND IT !!!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were great fans of this restaurant that was located in Bonita Beach. FL. Then, it moved. A few weeks later the restaruant reopened about 10 miles north in Fort Myers, FL. The new address is 16440 Tamiami Trail S, Fort Myers, FL (on the southbound side of US41).

Glad to report that the food is still fabulous. The restaurant is bigger, but the size has not adversely affected quality. The same wonderful chef and wait staff -- they are still masterful, friendly and attentive.

In my view if you find a local ethnic restaurant (family owned) that serves authentic fresh flavorful food for affordable prices, count yourself lucky. This is definitely not a corporate chain kind of place that serves mediocre Mexican (thank goodness). You will not be disappointed. Definitely start with the guacamole -- the best I have had in any restaurant.

Enjoy!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muse7699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT CLOSED!!! Relocated to 16440 Tamiami Trail S., Fort Myers!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

NOT CLOSED!!! Same restaurant as the one that used to be located in Bonita Springs. Now located at 16440 Tamiami Trail S., Fort Myers! Quite frankly, this is the best, most authentic Mexican food I've eaten in this country. The new restaurant is larger, and the food is just fabulous. The bilingual ladies and gentleman who run it are so friendly, attentive, and gracious. Special shout out to the chile poblano relleno de queso and the guacamole! Oh, mama! Plus, the cost is very affordable!

If you're headed south on Tamiami (US 41), watch out for the Forest Country Club. The restaurant is located in the next strip mall on the right. Have fun!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fogata also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Fogata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing