We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT Seafood!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria's Old Florida Restaurant

Maria's Old Florida Restaurant
Ranked #310 of 823 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“GREAT Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is definitely some of the best seafood I've ever eaten. Maria is an amazing cook and a joy to be around. We started off with mushrooms stuffed with blue crab (very tasty.) I then had the "The Louisiana Bayou"...a steamer pan filled with dungeness crab, shrimp, andouille sausage with sweet corn-on-the-cob and new potatoes. All were steamed and seasoned to absolute perfection. My wife had a delicious shrimp scampi. This is a small unpretentious place with a wonderful owner/chef in Maria!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic, Delicious Cajun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Top-notch food that's not to be missed. But hurry - Maria is closing in April when her lease is up. Lunch times are not as crowded so the wait is not as long. If you know Cajun food you're in for a treat, if not, let Maria's be your first experience. The Ocean Harvest Fondue is highly recommended and is the perfect size for sharing. The weird decor is a strange mish-mash of plastic, purple wisteria trees, chandeliers, and fish netting. Just don't walk out. Sit down and start ordering as much of this delicious food as you can possibly eat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Haynes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
574 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Maria's Passion is Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Try the Cajun! Delicious! Her passion is all over this place. Great meal! Great Service! The gumbo is delicious, have her award winners you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cajun Food In Fl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was glad to have heard of this gem on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed, the gumbo was fantastic & spicy, the fisherman's platter perfectly fried, even the oysters were just right. Portions were generous, prices very reasonable & Maria is a real character. The local news was going to do a live remote in a couple of days so this place is likely to get busier.
I heartily recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tml-michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, FL and Milford, PA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh seafood!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've eaten here a couple of times and couldn't get past the appetizers the last time however my daughter ordered a steamer plate & it was huge more like a platter! People from other tables came over to look at it & ordered the same after they say what we got!!

It is a family run place that can be overwhelmed when very busy but the food and reasonable prices keep me going bsck!

sorry to hear that the restaurant plans to close at the end of the season so get there soon and enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Old Florida Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maria's Old Florida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing