We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurants survive with customer service.”
Review of Stillwater Grille

Stillwater Grille
Ranked #215 of 857 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cypress Lake Drive
Description: Stillwater Grille is located on the corner of McGregor and Cypress Lake in Fort Myers. We are a family owned business. Stillwater Grille is owned by people who have a passion for great craft beers, fine wines and wonderful all-natural food. We love to eat, drink and have fun. We have three dining areas-outside on our gorgeous patio, in the bar area and in our fine dining room. Come check us out today!
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Restaurants survive with customer service.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We hadn't been to the Grille for a few months.,,,had probably eaten there 3 or 4 times in the past always in the dining room area and always enjoyed very good food and excellent service. On Saturday, October 19, we went to the bar so we could listen to one of our favorite bands. They were starting around 8 and we arrived shortly after that time. There was hardly any one there yet. There was no hostess so we sat ourselves at a high top along the windows. There were 2 servers working the table next to us. They returned numerous times to that table because each time they did, the guests asked for something more. We understood. Have to please the guests. Finally, the table next to us seem satisfied. One of their servers disappeared and the other passed our table a few times without even looking at us. No eye contact whatsoever. No "Ill be right with you." We gave up and went to the bar. We got served at the bar by one of the most inattentive, non-personable bartenders I've encountered anywhere. I'm not sure he even talked...just looked at us. We spotted the 2 servers who had no time for us a few times behind the bar, either going back to make their own drinks (why didn't they wait for the bartenders to make them?) or to talk to the 3 off-duty employees sitting at the end of the bar. Having been in the restaurant business just about all of my adult life, I realized that I witnessed almost all of the worst parts of poor service that evening. It's a shame because we like the restaurant. Was it a fluke? It wasn't busy enough...no, sorry, even if it's busy there's no excuse for uninterested service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaKnippBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    25
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“birthday dinner letdown”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

we made a reservation in advance so they knew we were coming in for birthday celebration with 9 people... we started off alright although it took forever to even get drinks...then it went downhill. Our waitress would disappear for 20 mins at a time... our food was o.k. tasting but half was lukewarm and the half hot. we didnt complain and just ate because it took so long to come and we were starving. We had to ask many times for refills and were done with dinner for over a half hour before our waitress came back and asked if we wanted dessert and coffee which of course we did...we DID tell her it was my moms birthday and we wanted to do something...then seriously it took 15 more min just to get coffee. she buzzed off without leaving sugar or anything for coffee. when i asked someone else on the staff if she was new when i went to get sugar from them...then she got an attitude with me...didnt appoligize once for the service...blamed it on the fact that she was working two rooms...and then put 20%tip on!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had not tried it so we went to eat & listen to music. The outside seating is beautiful; underneath a huge, old tree. Drinks were OK, service fair, food unimpressive. Hubby ordered some sort of steak sandwich which he said was pretty good. I had the balsamic chicken which was a disappointment. Why? The chicken breast looked like they were the pre-packaged, pre-marinated kind. The balsamic sauce seemed like an off the shelf pre-made sauce & it was sprinkled with goat cheese. A newbie to cooking could have pulled that off easy enough. Waiter came by right after our food was served, which was good. About 20 minutes later her stopped by again & asked if I wanted mine boxed up; I had taken two bites. I guess it didn't occur to him that there might be something wrong.

Band had a nice sound but played mild 70's music which got old quick.

Would we go back? Mmmmmm, doubtful. For $80.00 I think we can do better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT MYERS
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOCAL WATERING HOLE”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Newly opened, stopped for drinks, and music. Bar tenders could have been more friendly, and helpful. Didn't know we were there. We left. Many other places to go to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank henryd118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing is still in Stillwater Grille!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

By far the BEST happy hour, or should I say HOURS in Fort Myers!!! Over 48 beers on tap and 50 martinis + a new LOYALTY CLUB!!! Half price adult beverages and appetizers during the wonderful Happy Hours - sever (7) days a week from 3-7pm. Wonderful bartenders and staff greet you all the time and are quick to bring your orders with a smile!
Had a get-together Oct. 2, 2013 for about 20-25 people from 4-7p and the staff could not have been more wonderful! Having this during the hours that made me Happy (get it?) saved over $150 on the total bill We Love our Stillewater Grille!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimball M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwater Grille also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stillwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing