We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe 3 1/2 stars, but the best in Fort Myers? no way”

Wisteria Tea Room & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SW Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Maybe 3 1/2 stars, but the best in Fort Myers? no way”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A tiny tea shop that is cute that has a small offering of sandwiches and salads. Nice tea assortment but the loud cackling of the groups of women made a relaxing tea or lunch impossible. I had the egg salad and chickpea salad and my companion had a reuben and "Tuscan" soup. The soup was impossibly thin with little flavour and the reuben was made with corned beef that was very dry. I think they are trying to have a couple of items that are less "girly" but I think it's best bet would be to focus on afternoon tea.

There is no way this is Fort Myers best. Usually that honor goes to a donut shop <G>. Not a very good commentary on the ranking system of Trip Advisor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roofwaffe, Owner at Wisteria Tea Room & Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear LilMsFoodie:
I am so sorry that you didn't have a good experience at our Tea Room. I do recognize that sometimes when people are there for a celebration that they can get a bit loud. That is not always the case but it does happen in a small space.
We have sandwiches on our menu that are for our "cafe" guests like people who work in the downtown area and also those who only want to enjoy a regular lunch.
We are very happy to have such a great ranking but realize there are other wonderful places out there as good if not better than we are. We strive very hard to have delicious food and a warm atmosphere and it grieves me when guests don't experience that. I hope you will give us another opportunity to change you mind and If you feel comfortable in letting me know when you return we would love to assure your experince is a wonderful one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    48
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at Wisteria”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend had been asking me to go to this place and we had not made it until today. From the moment I stepped out of the car and started snapping pictures, I was in love. I walked under a beautiful wrought iron canopy and headed toward the front door. My friend was already there. It was everything she had told me it was. An old fashioned Southern Tea Room. The food was wonderful. I had a Cobb Salad and the soup of the day which was a Touscan Sausage. My friend had the soup and quiche. Service was also excellent. So if you find yourself in downtown Fort Myers, FL. don't miss Wisteria Tea Room & Cafe

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Svea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We received a warm welcome and excellent service by caring people who obviously love what they are doing. What a nice treat, to feel so welcomed! My friend had the meatloaf sandwich and shared it with me. Delicious! I had the mac and cheese in a crock, still nice and hot from the oven. It was very good. The side salad was so nice with candied pecans and feta cheese and very yummy cilantro dressing. Teas were wonderful! I also had the chocolate pound cake which is not to be missed! I don't think you can go wrong ordering anything on the menu here. Will look forward to returning!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoGulfCoast_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful atmosphere and delicious tea&food”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this small restaurant during our vacation at Ft. Myers. We absolutely loved it! The service was excellent; everyone was sweet and helpful. The tea, food, and dessert were fantastic. We have told friends and family about this place, and we will definitely return again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinaBabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and tea!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food, teas and service were all amazing! The bananas extravaganza dessert was scrumptious. Definitely worth getting off I-75 corridor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDketchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisteria Tea Room & Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Wisteria Tea Room & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing