We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening.”

Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Murder Mystery Dinner Train (owned and operated by Seminole Gulf Railway) offers a Unique Dining Experience where passengers enjoy our table side Murder Mystery Show and a Nostalgic Train Trip as our On-board Chef prepares a delicious Five Course Dinner. The train seats up to 208 people and operates year round, Wednesday through Sunday, and holds special holiday events, like a Sweetheart Express for Valentine's Day, a New Year's Eve Gala, two traditional New England style Thanksgiving dinners, and Halloween Ghost Trains. The Murder Mystery Dinner Train also offers hotel Get-Away packages with special rates available only through the railroad.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice evening.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Four of us attended and were greatly entertained. Dinner was very good. Good service and a neat train trip.

Helpful?
Thank poriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    146
    50
    31
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner Disaster”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

On the evening of February 28, 2014 our party of six rode on the Seminole Gulf Railway’s Murder Mystery Train at a cost in excess of $400. The train left on time at 6:30 with a very nice set-up of fresh fruit and cheese with our drink orders having been taken. In addition to a couple of beers (served in bottles, no glasses were used) we ordered the Pinot Grigio at $25 instead of ordering by the glass which we calculated would have cost over $40 for 5 glasses. The ride started okay as we headed towards Punta Gorda but then several times during the trip the train stopped. When we asked the servers they indicated that it was unusual but that there had been some issue on the train the previous night. By the third stop we were being told that it was a generator issue. Later on we were told that due to the generator issues hot water wasn’t being produced to wash dishes in the kitchen. Finally after 9PM we were served our entrees. As the dinners were served we were told that our meals would be on paper plates and additionally the vegetable steamer broke down so there would be no vegetables accompanying our meals. The chicken and fish meals were fine but the beef was another issue. The one meal that was supposed to be medium rare was blood red bleeding through the paper plate turning the table cloth pink and the meal that was to be medium was cooked to death. Deserts were also served on paper.
This meal service raises some questions, the paper plates being the main one.
How could they run out of china plates for the entrees? The only large plate used earlier during the meal was the fruit plate with one per table of four. Were we stuck with paper because we were the last car? Certainly they must have had more plates on board than the one per table that would need to be washed before reuse. Why did they even have paper on board? Is this a recurring problem?
Coffee was offered after the entrée and we were told there would be refills with the desert service. This never happened.
Further drink service took forever. A gentleman sitting with us had to request his three times before it showed up. Beer did not seem to be an issue as they appeared to have stocked the car’s service room with a supply.
With regards to the ride itself, we were sitting for quite a while asking the wait staff as to what was happening and they were clueless. I asked one of them to get the manager to come to the car to talk to us. He came back and said the manager was busy with the kitchen issues and would be back after the service was over. When she did appear we were simply told that due to the age of the train with equipment dated to the 30’s and 40’s that we should understand that things break down and apologized offering that all the drinks except for bottled wine would be complimentary and then immediate bolted from the car. Well excuse me, but if you are running a train with dinner service I would certainly expect that the train would have more modern equipment in the kitchen to ensure proper delivery of food and proper sanitary equipment to ensure clean and adequate service utensils. The age of the train was a poor excuse. You either maintain and run a proper business or you do not. The added insult to those of us who bought a bottle wine and to those that only had tea or a soft drink was also inexcusable. Where is their equivalent compensation for this terrible meal service?
There is no question in our minds that the $400 paid for this experience was not received in value and that the company should have done something more to compensate everyone. I filled out an evaluation form providing my email and phone number on it and as of March 3rd I have not been contacted as I truly expected. I also wrote on the wine bill that I was paying under protest and provided my email on it as well. Great Customer Service - NOT!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank boynton_john2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
As we explained on the phone, we are embarrassed by the experience you had that evening. We have issued a full refund and the opportunity to try us again for the proper experience, so please do take advantage of our offer. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Something Different To Do”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

MOST IMPORTANT ADVICE - BRING A SWEATER OR LIGHT JACKET. The air conditioning on the train is set way too high and if you do not bring something to cover up, you will not enjoy your ride.

My husband and I went with friends on this adventure. The price is about $74 incl. taxes (this does not include any beverages or the tip which they suggest to be $6 pp). The ride is about 3.5 hours long (you go towards Punta Gorde and then back). The food is not bad. If anyone likes prime rib - you certainly get a huge amount. I had the chicken stuffed with spinach and ricotta cheese. There was enough food but the chicken was over cooked - it was a bit dry. Also my meal was saltier than I like. One of us had the salmon and she said it was cooked perfectly. The Caesar salad was not very good as you could tell it had been made up well in advance. The food was tasty and you did not go away hungry.

The tables are set for 4 and the chairs are quite comfortable.

The bathroom was larger than I thought it was going to be and was clean. Although I think one bathroom did 2 railcars, if you have to go, don't wait too long as sometimes there was a line.

The actors were excellent. There was a lot of humour involved - there is no inter-action with the audience. While the actors are on, there is no table service. We were seated in the middle of the car (which is the best place to be) and were able to hear everything said.

All in all, we are glad we did the dinner. We went on the 5:30 dinner ride which got us back at 9:00.

View - there is not much to see on this ride (scenic wise) which was a bit disappointing for us. However, I did see some wild pigs.

There is plenty of parking. You are to arrive 45 minutes prior to departure. You really do not need to do this as you have assigned seating but you do have to check-in prior to boarding. The train leaves on time so don't be late.

Dress code - you do not have to dress up too much to ride the train. Most ladies had on capris with a nice top, some men had dress shorts with a shirt or a good pair of blue jeans. Just dress so you are comfortable as you will be sitting a long time.

Just remember to bring along something to cover up or you will not enjoy your trip.

Have fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Do it Again”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Was easy to find, left on time, food really was delicious. The 'mystery' was really pretty lame. And we were told by staff, drinks will take 15-20 minutes, so order with that in mind! Then we were advised numerous times they would like 20% tip on the bar tab. After the 20 minute wait, one of us was told they don't have the ingredients to make her drink, she'd have to reorder, so her drink was very late. Also, when we got on, there was a nice tray of cheese, crackers, and sliced fruit. But NO water or anything to drink! We used the fruit to wet our whistle, water would have been nice! One guest was ill and couldn't make it, they wouldn't allow for cancellation, but we were told we could take the meal with us. At the end, we had to ask again for the meal, waiting after everyone else had left, only to receive a piece of chicken. Really unacceptable for $80. Also, we were 9 people instead of ten and rather than seat us 3x3x3, they had us sit 4x3x2. So 2 guests had to sit with strangers! Really became separate from our group which was our mothers 81st birthday dinner. We would not do this again. At least the food was really good, and never felt swaying as other reviewers write about. But when we hit the halfway point, I think we sat for 20 minutes, which did make us late getting back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nancycalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice show but train ride not so good..”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Dinner and show were great. Train rocked side to side too much. If you go, take sea sickness medicine first. It's a "once every five years" type of attraction although the show changes more often than that.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Van P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing