We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful way to spend New Year's eve.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train

Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Murder Mystery Dinner Train (owned and operated by Seminole Gulf Railway) offers a Unique Dining Experience where passengers enjoy our table side Murder Mystery Show and a Nostalgic Train Trip as our On-board Chef prepares a delicious Five Course Dinner. The train seats up to 208 people and operates year round, Wednesday through Sunday, and holds special holiday events, like a Sweetheart Express for Valentine's Day, a New Year's Eve Gala, two traditional New England style Thanksgiving dinners, and Halloween Ghost Trains. The Murder Mystery Dinner Train also offers hotel Get-Away packages with special rates available only through the railroad.
North Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a wonderful way to spend New Year's eve.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This train ride and dinner experience is something I recommend everyone do at least once. Having it on New Year's eve made it that much more special. They had a wonderful hors d'ouvres tray, Party balloons, hats and noise makers. A champagne toast at Midnight. The dinner was excellent and the service was remarkable, especially considering that they fed 250 people in a short time and on a moving train. The murder mystery was fun and interacting with the actors was a hoot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
New Year's Eve is special night for us and we are delighted that you could share your evening with us. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Here's to 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    141
    47
    31
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun but a little pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This was a fun night, it gets a little pricey but still worth it. The food was tasty and the servers were great. I had the prime rib and it was yummy.

Helpful?
Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for you sharing your New Year's Eve experience. I am glad that you were finally able to join us. I understand what you mean about the time frame for this night, but people want to have dinner, and be out after midnight, so yes this one trip is the longest Murder Mystery trip we have. Normally it is only a 3 1/2 hour trip (6:30 to 10:00pm).

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New Years Eve experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family and I have always wanted to try this especially because we have teens that are too young to go out partying downtown. Every time we call they are book so this time we left our name just in case of a cancellation and they called us. We boarded the train and it was all decorated for New Year's Eve. Once the train started going they tell you how it runs. It serves delicious food....real good food, dessert, drinks, etc. (We got a limo to bring us home so we didnt drink and drive). The characters put on an act during dinner (small skits). You can participate to see who the murder is but it isnt mandatory....but it keeps you involved and fun....definitely different. The actors were great and quite funny too. The service was spectacular. There was a young man who was waiting for his first day on the job and he was great and very kind and courteous and professional. Paula was our waitress also. She was great, quick and very nice and very personable and professional as well. We enjoyed ourselves a lot. My only problem was just that the ride was about an hour too long. We had to board at 7:30 and I believe the train left at 8:00 and was back at 1 am. I dont know if they are all that way. It wasnt a big deal though and I wouldnt let that be a deal breaker. Im glad I experienced it. It really was great. I wouldnt recommend this for anyone with children who whine or cry or get bored easily as it can distract the characters and annoy the customers as you are in close quarters. If your child enjoys plays and acting and train rides and can sit still then its fine. It was very good though and we all enjoyed all of it even made friends with people in our cart. I dont know if there is wheelchair access but i think so. A phone call is all it takes to ask all questions of concern. They are very accurate with everything. ***One thing is that it was hard for us to find. With all the signs on the highway you can pass right by it so I stress to leave a little early just in case you get a little lost. Its right off Colonial Blvd but it doesnt advertise lavishly on the street. (again not a bad thing)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank live4fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and i am very glad to read that you and the family had such a good time. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dameron, Maryland
Level Contributor
421 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Had a BLAST! Food and play both excellent. Train was fun too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went on the Murder Mystery train on 12/26/2013 and it was a real pleasure! Meal was terrific, as was the play. The serving staff rotated with the actors so that neither group was in your particular train car at any given moment. Very professionally done. A prize is given to the person who comes closest to guessing who the murderer is and their motive at the end of the trip. You have 3 choices for your entree - all were expertly prepared. I would definitely do the train trip again when in Fort Myers, Florida!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun Mystery Train Ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

For New Year's Eve (NYE) we tried the railway's Murder Mystery Dinner Train experience. The cost for NYE was a whopping $125 per person. But we thought, oh well, since it was for NYE there would be something special considering the high cost. Normally show/dinner runs about $79 per person. They prefer business casual to dressy attire but there were a few people in jeans. No drinks (tea/coffee/soft drinks/liquor) are included. That was a rip off.

The show was a comedy spoof on train robbery and you could help determine who committed the murder. Actors were very good and funny. Prizes were given to one person in each train car that had the correct answer.

The food left a lot to be desired. For the cost of dinner the choices were no different than any other time of year. The only extra item provided was champagne at midnight, and it was not very good. The courses were very slow to arrive, hot foods were barely warm. Cheese included on a fruit/cheese tray was not good (more like cheese spread) and evidently been sitting there for a little while. A hard crust formed over top of cheese spreads. Also, there were not enough to offer 4 people. Fruit was good. The soup was supposed to be lobster bisque. It was creamy tomato soup with about a teaspoon of seafood.

Appetizer of scallop wrapped in bacon was good, but could have been a little warmer. I had prime rib - and it was tough to chew. My spouse had salmon and it was a VERY small piece drenched in sauce. Green beans were good but potatoes had a hard crust formed over them from probably sitting under a heat lamp.

Side note, we had a person in our party that could not eat seafood. They were not accommodating and the person could not eat the soup or appetizer. They really were stiffed on the price of $125 and not consuming two courses of the meal.

The ride started in Fort Myers and ran to Punta Gorda. On the return we stopped over the water while wait staff collected any additional money owed. That took about 45 minutes.

If I had to do it all over I would have tried the experience at the $79 price, not the $125.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmiller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing