We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful evening.”

Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Murder Mystery Dinner Train (owned and operated by Seminole Gulf Railway) offers a Unique Dining Experience where passengers enjoy our table side Murder Mystery Show and a Nostalgic Train Trip as our On-board Chef prepares a delicious Five Course Dinner. The train seats up to 208 people and operates year round, Wednesday through Sunday, and holds special holiday events, like a Sweetheart Express for Valentine's Day, a New Year's Eve Gala, two traditional New England style Thanksgiving dinners, and Halloween Ghost Trains. The Murder Mystery Dinner Train also offers hotel Get-Away packages with special rates available only through the railroad.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This train ride is a lovely evening for adults. The staff was attentive, the food was good and the show is enjoyable. I recommend this as a nice evening. The train is very clean and the food is served in a timely way. The prime rib was done just as everyone at our table asked for. The potatoes were gummy but the string beans were fresh. Beverages are not included and that includes soft drinks. I ordered ice tea and was not charged for refills but my husband ordered soda and was charged for each refill. The show was fun and the actors are delightful. Bring your camera and you can take a group shot with them when you depart the train. The scenery from the train is a bit depressing because mostly you go through back end of homes, stores, factories so don't expect to sightsee. Overall an enjoyable three hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank veteran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    144
    49
    31
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A FUN TIME, EVERY TIME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've done the Seminole Gulf Railway 'Mystery Train' three times in recent years and can't wait to go next month to enjoy "Noir Confidential"! The entire experience, from start to finish, is always lots of fun, especially for folks like us, who don't take themselves too seriously! The ride is pleasant - the train sways a little - that's what trains do - go with the flow to have a good time. The food is excellent, and I appreciate it all the more knowing what the Chef and staff have to go through to prepare so many meals on a moving train. The administrative people are a pleasure to deal with, the staff is pleasant and helpful, wait staff is exceptional and the players are usually 'on the moon' - lots, lots and lots of laughs, with a little ham thrown in for good measure.... it's comedy, after all! They provide a consistently quality product at a reasonable price - all you have to do is provide the laughs.... and they come easily if you're open to a good time! See ya soon, Seminole Gulf!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeB1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A train ride, dinner and a mystery all in one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were excited about this attraction as something new and different. It was all that but not to the level of quality we would have liked. The play was funny and the actors did a good job considering that they we were performing each act 4-5 times in the different train cars. The food was okay but nothing special. Servers were great- efficient, cordial, funny. The train rocks sideways as you travel which was disconcerting at first (possible to cause nausea) but we adapted to it after a while. A nice one-time experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageurNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT MYERS
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good idea but falls short of delivering satisfactio”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

It was not the comfortable train ride I expected . I was disapointed with the seating which was uncomfortable chairs and the general condition of carraige was one of wear and tiredness.This said the staff were friendly and food fast and ok. .Acting was a bit hammy but thats theatre . Sorry a good idea and nice to have but needs a lot of refinment .

Helpful?
4 Thank DON D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dining in an Agatha Christie movie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well it wasn't quite Murder on the Orient Express, but it sure was close. We booked this event as a club outing for the British American Social Club and took a party of 8 adults, six of whom were Brits. It was rather fortunate that the murder play was called A Hard Day's Death, and was a takeoff of the Beatles. Very well acted, especially considering they were confined to the aisle between tables. The 5 course dinner was very good and the whole trip very entertaining. The package included an overnight stay at the Courtyard Marriott.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug_the_Elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurderMysDinnerTrain, Owner at Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Doug the Elder,

Thank you for the great review. If you enjoyed "A Hard Day's Death", you will love our two new shows: "Noir Confidential" and "Devils on the Diamond". Of course if you wish to stay with a Brit theme, "By Jove, You're Dead!" opens July 5th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Seminole Gulf Railway Murder Mystery Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing