We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”
Review of Lee Roy Selmon's

Lee Roy Selmon's
Ranked #112 of 857 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was one of our favorite places. But this past Friday night, it was crowded and service was poor. Our favorite Gumbo soup was tepid and not hot. Sent it back and it was returned at a better temperature and given gratis. The usually delish brisket was overcooked and had to be sent back. The St Louis ribs were good, not great and not hot. Took too long to get extra dipping sauce, refills on soda and tea, and a long wait for the bill. We were surprised that its level of service had deteriorated - we usually give it 5 stars - but this visit was only a 3. Lunch is less crowded - perhaps that is the answer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank whereyagoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    70
    30
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“won't hesitate to return”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been to this restaurant numerous times and have never been disappointed in the overall experience. I almost always try something different on the menu and have never been disappointed in the food. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is the last few times I've been there, service has been a bit slower than usual. But note that has happened at times not as busy, so maybe they were a bit more interested in keeping customers around than when it is busy. It should be also be noted, they are almost always busy because they have good food at reasonable prices. The location is good too. If you want really good "bar food" this is way better than most. I like that they have call ahead take out too. One of my favorite casual dining spots in Fort Myers

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlieeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I love the fried green tomatoes. The food is above average and the service is generally pretty good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nlb0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Places Many BBQ Place To Shame”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There is not any reference in its name to BBQ, but that is what they are. And, they do an Awesome job at it. We started with the smoked wings. Wow, they were tender, fully cooked, hint of smoke, and a great sauce. They were first rate on smoked wings, and not deep fried. We ordered the sampler for 2. This had 4 ribs, a whole smoked chicken breast, 5 or 6 slices of Mamas Maeat loaf and some Pulled pork. The pork was great! Real Pork pulled, with a nice sauce, hint of smoke, and very tender. Ribs, great! Fall of the bone when you pull the meat. Great sauce and cooked great. The chicken was moist, tender, full of flavor, and great.

Now, I have never liked grits. Our server brought us a small taster and OMG they were melt in your mouth party of bacon, cheese and creamy yummy ness. They have now set the bar for grits. If you don't like grits, or never tried them, trust me, they are so so so yummy, you will love them.

The baked beans were also really good.

Our server was really great, and the food fantastic. I will tell anybody I know who comes to Fort Myers to go to Lee Roy Selmons. Two big thumbs up!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road again
Level 6 Contributor
1,165 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Great Food, Clean and Get Fishing Information from Greg”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great tasting BBQ, Sweet Heat Chicken, Cold Beer and the GM Greg Stamper is a licensed fishing charter captain and knows every great location to fish in SW Florida. Sports, fun people and super clean so no risk of getting sick. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Roy Selmon's also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lee Roy Selmon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing