We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love it, but it was just average”
Review of DaRuMa

DaRuMa
Ranked #138 of 861 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but it was just average”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I sat at one of the Hibachi tables which have strange raised seating instead of chairs. They tried to squeeze 12 people when it only holds 10. Thankfully, the extra 2 people didn't show up.
The Chef did the same few tricks as every other Hibachi Chef that I've ever seen. And the food was the same, too. Nothing special here..not bad, but not any better than Sakura on San Carlos Blvd which is cheaper.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WifeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    73
    39
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Ever”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Can't get much better sushi. Fresh, delicious, great service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sefa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service not a priority. 3 strikes and your out for me.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Food is ok for Japanese Hibachi - nothing special over any other Hibachi restaurant - the problem is the wait staff, servers and chefs - seriously ? I don't think you could find anymore distant, rude people to work in this restaurant. I'm a die hard - I'll give people the benefit of the doubt and not let one bad experience burn my taste buds - but 3? For the overall price and lack of service - it's not worth it. There is nothing stand out in the sushi or food that you can't find at any other Japanese restaurant - anywhere. It's pretty - and has nice physical atmosphere - but after that - forget it. Being flat out ignored by wait staff, overlooked numerous times when trying to order anything is just bad wait staff skills -add to that - the chefs don't engage or offer to take care of anything at the table either. Off to find another hibachi restaurant in Ft Myers.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Noughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Consistently good sushi w/ great $5.00 specials. Very stylish atmosphere, friendly waitstaff and a fun time at the piano bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djdlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW FL
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I went there with my family and it was such a great experience. At the time my husband was in the hospital so my oldest daughter and family took me. The food was excellent and the whole experience was so much fun that I forgot all my troubles while there. Every one enjoyed it even the kids (7 and 9). They have been back about 5 other times also.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dd50swfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DaRuMa also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to DaRuMa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing