We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place anytime”
Review of Gatorbites

Gatorbites
Ranked #114 of 863 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place anytime”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I been to this restaurant a number of times. It is conveniently located close to the Sanibel Island Causeway. Near a Residence Inn and La Quinta Hotel. The menu is varied with excellent seafood and burgers. My favorite is the fish and chips. Staff is friendly and pleasant. There is a relaxed sporty atmosphere and many "locals" frequent the establishment. The owner and manage seems to be ever-present. He has been there every time I have gone. He is very personable and will greet you check on your meal, and welcome you back. He is present taking a personal interest in the operation.The result is excellent service and satisfaction. I would recommend this for anyone looking for refreshing drink and reasonable priced meal after a day at the beach or just for a quick meal out.You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laborpains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    76
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good place to eat. fish and chips were very good. As were the fish tacos.
Great atmosphere. Worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vixtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gator by the Tail”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Located in a strip mall next to Publix. If you want a excellent happy hour with reasonably priced drinks and different appetizers then this is your place. They serve gator bites prepared at least 5 different ways. They also have gator burgers as well as regular hamburgers, chicken and salads. If there is a negative it is that they don't serve bread with salads and it can be loud when they are busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank methree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Got better since it opened!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our first visit was two years ago when it had recently opened and we liked it very much. On our second visit we found an expanded menu, outdoors seating, excellent service and the food, as before, delicious.

The food is freshly prepared and of excellent quality. We usually stay at the Residence Inn in Fort Myers/ Sanibel and it's a three minute walk to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Customer Service at its best”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our group of 6 ate here after a day on the water. Great food , whether it was the gator burger, shrimp, or fish. The servers were friendly and efficient. The most impressive part was that the owner visited each and every table (he didn't introduce himself as such, but we were with someone who lives in the area who let us know that) . We expected the noisy bar atmosphere, and it was as expected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatorbites also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gatorbites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing