We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service”

Osaka Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #106 of 856 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Osaka opened in November of 1986 and soon became a favorite restaurant in Fort Myers, FL. We offer generous sized portions made with only the highest quality ingredients on the market. Featuring fresh sushi and creative maki rolls as well as modern riffs on traditional fare, Osaka offers guests a broad and savory tasting tour of popular Asian cuisines. Plus, tantalize your senses with our unique and freshly prepared cocktails. Osaka offers a host of Asian-inspired cocktail selections and an reasonably-priced wine and sake list. You will not beat our quality of food or prices. From fresh sushi to hibachi grills and Thai & Laos food, we have something for everyone. Please visit us today to see what makes us the very best Japanese restaurant in town.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The service was horrible. We had appetizers (two soups plus one more) , first we got just one soup. After a while we got one main dish and the other soup. When I told her that we haven't got all appetizers and the other main dish is not there the waiter said. I tried to tell them that in the kitchen but they just gave me this. After a little while we got the rest of the food. Sadly the food was not worth the wait . PAD thai noodels were big disapointment. But the beef tenderloin was excellent and the TOM KA soup as well. You could see and feel that the atmosphere between the staff is not good. There was a bossy women walking all over, and I think the negative atmosphere came from here, it was wierd.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    52
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, average service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Being a huge fan of both Japanese and Thai food, I went to Osaka twice. I ordered the Thai Yum beef (beef salad) which was excellent, both vegetable and shrimp tempura (very good) and sushi (rolls and nigiri), which were excellent also. The service on both occasions, however, was mediocre. The first day I was in a nearly empty restaurant, yet nobody really bothered to check on us once the food was brought to the table. The second day there was only one waitress in the restaurant, so I understand she was busy, but that doesn't change the fact that a restaurant should have more than one server available at peak hours such as lunch or dinner. The quality of the food makes it worth going anyway, in my opinion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor reception”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times.
Last night we took some friends.
The older lady at the reception (owner) was very rude us.
My friends were ready to leave.
I convinced them food was great,so we stayed.
This lady just ignored us!She spoiled our evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrseabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi + Best Spider Roll”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

At Fort Myers visiting the in-laws and grabbed sushi at Osaka. It exceeded expectations.

Enjoyed both traditional sushi and a roll.

1) The salmon sashimi, yellowtail sashimi, ikura (salmon roe) nigiri were extremely fresh. The slices of seafood were generous, too.

2) Their spider roll was the best I've had.

3) Spring rolls were delicious!

Service was excellent. We were seated and served quickly.

I love Thai and Japanese food and know I'll frequent Osaka the next time I'm in town. Can't wait to try the hibachi dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST HIBACHI!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

They also offer Thai food, and the prices are much better than other hibachi restaurants. Service is always great and their house hot saki makes the meal. I would recommend this to any and all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLaw220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Osaka Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing