We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty in the gardens”
Review of Butterfly Estates

Butterfly Estates
Ranked #13 of 113 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Home of The Florida Native Butterfly Society Conservatory. A non profit organization dedicate to protecting, preserving and populating Florida's Native Butterflies! Visit our two restaurants, Gulf Coast Bookstore and gist shop.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beauty in the gardens”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a beautiful, interesting and relaxing experience. The greenhouse gardens house all Florida native butterflies. In the atrium leading to the main gardens there are containers of chrysalis and caterpillars forming them. You get to experience all the stages of transformation. The guides are very knowledgeable and even showed us the tiny eggs that were layed by butterflies that start the process all over again. We were even able to see the release of newly born butterflies flying for the first time. The greenhouse itself has beautiful gardens, ponds and a stream in it. There is relaxing music playing in the background and it all makes for a wonderful experience. If you like photography, there are ample opportunities available. There is an attached gift shop, ice cream & homemade fudge shop and cafe with outside dining available. It all made for a wonderful experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaturtle30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    70
    23
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“interesting afternoon”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having never been to a Butterfly garden I really enjoyed this. There is always someone there to help you find the butterflies and identify them for you. The cafe next door has great food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank joycea21075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Butterfly Estates”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a lovely little butterfly experience - it's not a big place and not a lot of species when I visited. The employees in the indoor garden were as nice as could be, knowledgeable about the butterflies, and took pride in the experience they provide. The gift shop employees were also nice ~ gave me a great discount on my purchase. Unfortunately it's expensive for what you get - doesn't take long to see everything!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mew521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pricey for what is available”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's very small, with only a few indigenous species. The employee was really well informed and gave a very interesting talk to everyone who came for a visit, for about 10 mins. There really wasn't anything else to see. The butterfly release was a little pathetic actually. Really don't suggest you eat there - the food was horrible and the service incredibly slow

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kweega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“short and sweet”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This butterfly garden is smaller than some of the ones I have visited, But over all it is nice. The employees were friendly and it is clean. There were alot of native butterflies and they educate you before going into the conservatory. Beautiful plants and a relaxing atmosphere. If you like to watch the butterflies like I do plan on about 11/2 in the gardens. That was to long for my husband but I like to take alot of pictures. After the garden treat yourself to lunch at the cafe. I was not expecting much and I was very pleasantly suprised at the quality of the food and the prices. I got a delicious turkey sandwich that came with cranberry mayo,apple slices and lettuce for $8.00 and $3.00 for a fountain soda. Food was fresh everything was clean and the service was very good. I will go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCoralAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Butterfly Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing