We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Florida beach...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bunche Beach

Bunche Beach
Ranked #13 of 111 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Old Florida, where things are done naturally.San Carlos Bay - Bunche Beach Preserve is a 718 acre beach and mangrove forest preserve with a variety of recreational opportunities to enjoy including: Bird Watching, Canoe/Kayak Launch, Canoeing/Kayaking, Fishing, Hiking (Boardwalk), Nature Study/Photography, Picnic Area, Swimming and Sun Bathing.Step back in time visiting San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve, one of the few natural beaches framed with native vegetation and mangrove tunnels to explore by kayak or canoe. In 2010, public beach facilities were completed & opened with ADA parking, restrooms, fishing piers, kayak ramp, picnic tables, and a small boardwalk overlooking Rock Creek. On the white sandy beach, there is an ADA mobie mat that leads to an ADA picnic table. Bunche Beach is not a barrier island beach. It is narrow compared to the beaches on Sanibel and Fort Myers beach. This adds to its unique charm. This Beach is never crowded and easily accessible with no traffic concerns. Kayak and SUP rentals are available through the on site vendor, Kayak Excursions, which also sells bottled water and assorted sundries at the Activities center located just behind the beach.Enjoy a quiet day by the bay.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Real Florida beach...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a unique beach it's natural...no one picking up the sea weed etc. So you get to see some unique animal/aquatic life. Some of the best shelling to due to the tide pools and muddy bottom.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    103
    51
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We discovered this beach by accident! We had already visited Fort Myers Beach and because of the forecast, didn't want to chance paying to go to Sanibel and get rained out. This beach was down the street from our hotel and had only a few beach goers. We were able to stay about 4 hours and enjoy the sunshine and water. We were also treated to show of dancing crabs near our beach chairs.
If you are looking for a quiet beach away from the shops and crowds, this may be the place to spend the day. I would definitely return on my next visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rhonda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Where the Nudes hide out. Very small beach but an excellent place to kayak from.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cchrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good beach for sun, shells, and sunset.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I often go to Bunche Beach in the morning to look for shells. When the tide is out, there are sandbars and shallow water, and you can walk out pretty far. Sometimes the water does not look very clear or nice for swimming, and it is not the best place to swim. It is good, however, for sunbathing and shelling.

I often walk this beach alone and feel perfectly safe. If you get there at sunset, you will be treated to an awesome view. Many people gather here for sunset.

Parking is on the street for $1 an hour, and it is limited. There are no bathroom or shower facilities at the end of the road, but there is a nice new facility up the road about half way down where there is more parking.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ohiomrspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not as crowded as fort myers beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

improvements to this beach are mostly good. be careful if you use the new boardwalk to the beach as you can encounter some unsavory types lurking around. if you go alone, i suggest parking along the road and walking the road to the beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank e h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunche Beach also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bunche Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing