We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your bug spray at sundown.”
Review of Bunche Beach

Bunche Beach
Ranked #13 of 117 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Old Florida, where things are done naturally.San Carlos Bay - Bunche Beach Preserve is a 718 acre beach and mangrove forest preserve with a variety of recreational opportunities to enjoy including: Bird Watching, Canoe/Kayak Launch, Canoeing/Kayaking, Fishing, Hiking (Boardwalk), Nature Study/Photography, Picnic Area, Swimming and Sun Bathing.Step back in time visiting San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve, one of the few natural beaches framed with native vegetation and mangrove tunnels to explore by kayak or canoe. In 2010, public beach facilities were completed & opened with ADA parking, restrooms, fishing piers, kayak ramp, picnic tables, and a small boardwalk overlooking Rock Creek. On the white sandy beach, there is an ADA mobie mat that leads to an ADA picnic table. Bunche Beach is not a barrier island beach. It is narrow compared to the beaches on Sanibel and Fort Myers beach. This adds to its unique charm. This Beach is never crowded and easily accessible with no traffic concerns. Kayak and SUP rentals are available through the on site vendor, Kayak Excursions, which also sells bottled water and assorted sundries at the Activities center located just behind the beach.Enjoy a quiet day by the bay.
Putnam Heights, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bring your bug spray at sundown.”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Bunche Beach is a nice little beach off Sumerlin. Because it is on the bay, there are different shells than what you find on the ocean beaches. (Mostly oysters) There are bathroom facilities but they are located up the road and may be inconvenient for children. Parking meters allow you to pay for parking. Like FMB, there are no waves. There is a little hot dog stand set up most days which is good, but that is the only choice for food. I would stay clear of this beach early morning and sunset and the "no-seeums" will carry you away! Overall, not a horrible beach but certainly not as nice as some.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    111
    51
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort myers
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great calm easy access with lots of wildlife.”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I live in fort myers and go to Bunche beach weekly, i have been to most places around fort myers and this is the best place to kayak a beach in somewhat calm water...low tide is the best for viewing wildlife... The sand bars that rise from the water at low tide go for about 150 feet from the beach exposing soft sands full of wildlife, snails, fiddler crabs, hermit crabs, horse shoe crabs, and lots of Fish that jump out of the water and chase other fish, clean rest rooms, Nice place for parking, no crime and one place in Florida that you don't really have to worry about any alligators. Highly suggest if you visit fort myers you should plan a sun set or day at the beach at Bunche beach.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesD983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nys
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“okay for a quick stop”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We visited this beach briefly in the evening and again in the day. I didn't see any garbage, and did notice some birds in the water. We didn't stay because dogs are not allowed on this beach like they are on most of the beaches in the Fort Myers and Sanibel areas.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank cedarvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bunche Beach-great for viewing wildlife and sunsets”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Since the review of November, 2009 the park has been updated. There is a new visitor center, bathrooms, kayak launch (two) and lookouts (the grand opening/celebration is set for June 19, 2010). This beach is in a wildlife preserve, so the setting is quite different that busy Fort Myers Beach. This beach is best for nature lovers, bird watchers, kayakers, etc. The beach is narrow and sits between Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel Island. The parking lot is quite a walk from the beach-we were told by another visitor this was done on purpose to help maintain the wildlife preserve/tranquil feel, atmosphere for the animals, etc. It's a quiet beach and will hopefully stay that way once the new attractions have opened up. The waters are very shallow-so probably not good for swimmers. We saw fishermen who were able to take advantange of the shallow waters and wade out quite a distance from the beach to fish. We went last evening (a Thursday evening). From 6:00-7:30 there were only a handful of people at this beach. From 7:30-8:30 (sunset) we were the only people on the beach. We watched a beautiful sunset over Sanibel Island. The other thing we ejnoyed was watching the boats leave San Carlos Bay and head for the Gulf. We watched sailboats, shrimp boats, the pirate ship, and several sunset tours head out. If you visit, you should bring bug spray.

Helpful?
2 Thank slfetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Bunche Beach Danger”
Reviewed November 7, 2009

While in Florida my husband and I wanted to see Bunche Beach which was described as a "natural area" beach. We went at low tide expecting to do some bird-watching. We were able to walk a long way from shore and enjoyed exploring the mud flats and watching the birdlife.

As we were walking barefoot through the mud we began to see bottles and debris in the tidal pools. Walking back closer to the shore there was broken beer bottles and other shards of glass sticking up among the shells. I put my shoes back on and continued to see chunks of glass all along the length of the beach...very hazardous. The pieces were big enough that if they were stepped on, would penetrate well into the bottom of your foot, requiring stitches for sure! Actually the pieces were large enough to penetrate the bottom of a flip flop. Particularly dangerous for children.

We were disgusted with this beach and appalled that it wasn't cleaned up, and that there were no signs warning of this hazard. There was enough glass present to know that it was not a new problem. We have never seen this amount of broken glass on a beach anywhere...a piece or two yes...but never to this extent along the entire beachfront. If you are visiting here keep your eyes open and tread carefully!!

Helpful?
26 Thank 4givN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunche Beach also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bunche Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing