We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Fort Myers
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Edison and Ford Winter Estates
from $36.57
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (5,413)
Filter reviews
5,413 results
Traveler rating
3,636
1,405
295
56
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,636
1,405
295
56
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour grounds are beautiful american history banyan tree these men his inventions own pace great history self guided step back in time christmas lights winter home on display gift shop interesting place great place to visit caloosahatchee river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 5,413 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Built in 1886 in the early days of Florida land development. Edison saw the beauty, and sought relief from the cold weather of New Jersey winters. He and his wife Mina collected tropical plants and trees for the estate.
Spring for the tour guide for the antidote stories and spend some time in the museum.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MelanieDVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We opted for the guided tour at $30 per adult and takes a good hour. If you prefer you can take a self guided audio tour for $25.

We enjoyed the guided tour although it was a busy day and the group was quite big. Our guide talked about some of the trees and plants in the grounds as well as about the homes and the families.

You can only go inside the properties on a special tour, otherwise you look in from numerous openings in the outer walls. Works fine but means you only see the ground floors, which are furnished. You also get to see several other buildings, such as the caretakers cottage, Edisons separate study and the pool.

The homes were interesting but I thought the museum and exhibits, including original Ford cars and the laboratory were the best parts. Hadn't appreciated how much Edison had invented in addition to the lighbulb. Amazing too how much two men, with little in the way of formal education, achieved.

I guess we spent around 3 hours here including a 30 min lunch stop. (Posh van selling Mexican food, burgers and hot dogs with plenty of outdoor seating available).

There are also a couple of gift shops and quite a large plant and garden shop on site.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jasmine38Chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We landed around Noon in Fort Myers on a Saturday and the hotel room wasn't ready. This was a nice two to three hour visit that we are glad we made. Thomas Edison, Henry Ford and Firestone seemed to have become friends due to common interests in Automobiles, Electricity and Tires/Rubber. This Winter Estate is where they spent their time away from New Jersey while engaging in interesting experiments in Science and nature Exploration. They were interested in seeing whether the Florida weather is good for growing trees in the US that could supply Rubber for tires and Edison was experimenting with innovations at the same time. All of their activities are displayed here in a musuem setting and their houses and gardens can also be seen during this visit. If you cannot wait for the next guided tour (about an hour apart), you can just grab a map and follow the numbered spots on the map while reading short explanations about what you are seeing. Top it off with a visit to the Ford Shoppe where you can get gifts and Ice Cream! We visited the Edison and Ford Shoppe in the Bell Tower mall in Fort Myers. Lots of interesting Gift Ideas there also. Visit the gift shoppe first if you want to get a $1 each admission ticket. It is a bit pricey but we enjoyed the trip so much that it was worth it. Nice views of the bay from everywhere on the estates. Will visit again!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Nari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to many tours like this across the U.S. This one is different because you can't actually walk through the house. There were glass doors to look through but it made taking photos of rooms in the houses very difficult. There were neat trees but other than that, I feel the cost was too high for what is offered. The museum was okay but nothing great. The same thing with the laboratory. It doesn't seem well though out. Just a bit here and a bit there. Nothing really flows. It wasn't bad, but it isn't on our list of favorite places we visited in Florida. We might have felt different if the price were more reasonable given what was we saw.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 7tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did this as a family and it was such a nice way to spend the morning! We did use a guide and we were glad we did. We learned many new and interesting facts along the way. We will go back and hopefully see other sites.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank cathyb442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews