We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the trip if in Ft. Myers area!”

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Ranked #1 of 112 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't miss the trip if in Ft. Myers area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A beautiful day to explore the estate, museum, lab and gardens. We took the self-guided audio tour for $20.00 each and for the history feel this is worth it! This is very educational and quite enjoyable. It's been years since we made the stop, and we are glad we did. The views are incredible, and it is easy to see why the Edison and Ford families loved it here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,695
    1,079
    220
    37
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Pretty cool to walk around and check this winter estate. Beautiful grounds with colorful flora. The homes are restored and displayed in a way they were during Edison's era. The museum is fantastic and very informative! Drove up from Naples for a day trip. Well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kekoa_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Insite into the past of two of the most remarkable men in history. They spent summers in luxury on this beautiful property. Edisons lab shouldn't be missed

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggag139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

While visiting friends who live nearby, they suggested touring the estate. I had never heard of it but it was a fantastic day spent among incredible plants that were totally awesome and unknown to this Midwestern gal. As an avid gardener, I really appreciate the plant ID labels and I absolutely exhausted the battery on my camera (160 pix).

The history of the Edison and Ford families was very interesting and I really enjoyed viewing the rooms with authentic furnishings and belongings. You have excellent opportunities to photograph the interior rooms. The contributions and the sheer genius of Thomas Edison is on magnificent display in the Museum bldg., so be sure to not miss that. Even the videos are highly informative and worth sitting in on.

I thought the $20.00 price person was well worth it. The audio players are a fantastic way for a large number of people to go at their own pace to view the highlights and background information, and in a non-intrusive way.

The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. This place is an absolute "must see" in my opinion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayceeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You should know. This place is REALLY expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just a heads up. Be prepared to pay a lot.
No, more than that.
No, evn more.

So if you go, be prepared to either swallow hard hard and pay, or look cheap to whoever you took.

I am writing this because it seems to be "missing" from the other reviews.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdisonFord, Public Relations Manager at Edison & Ford Winter Estates, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Edison Ford and your comments on Trip Advisor. The Edison Ford is one of the top ten most visited historic sites in the nation with hundreds of thousands of people visiting our site each year. There are many pricing options for visitors including the option of purchasing a membership, which includes free admission to the Edison Ford throughout the year and free or discounted admission to participating reciprocal museums, homes and gardens. Many of our visitors sign up to become members and have enjoyed the benefits of our membership program. The Edison Ford site has more than 20 acres of gardens, nine historical buildings including the original Edison Botanic Research Lab and a large Museum filled with inventions of Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. The Edison Ford is a non-profit organization and all proceeds are used to preserve, conserve, and maintain the Edison and Ford Estates as well as continue our mission and commitment to educational programming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing