We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the History”

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Ranked #1 of 115 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love the History”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

It's on the water and has lots of history lessons. They were two brilliant men who worked together. Alot is outside so pick a nice day.

Helpful?
Thank mer4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,779
    1,105
    222
    39
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go Again if you have visited before”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

They have added individual recording devices so you can hear at about 20 locations around the property that add alot of helpful information. The museum is also great. We spent 2 hours but could have spent more. If you have not been here recently, try it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Artist5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Edison and Ford Winter Estates”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Even though we didn't have time for the tour it was still amazing. The Banyan Tree Harvey Firestone gave Thomas Edison in 1925 alone is worth the stop. It has now grown to almost one acre in diameter. This is a site of American royalty at its finest..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church Va
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I am sorry we did not do this with the previous generation”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was interesting. I do not usually go for the historic attractions but the grounds and homes were lovely and the wandering around with the self guided tour gave us a chance to dawdle when we were fascinated and move on when we were not. I highly recommend the self guided tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank millede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“a really nice way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The property is lovely, on the river with the most amazing banyan and kapock trees. We took the self guided audio tour which was perfect - you go at your own pace. Edison arrived first and when the property next door became available Ford bought it. The homes are lovely, especially Ford's. There is also a great museum and Edison's labs to tour. A fast food lunch is available along with 2 gift shops. Be sure to watch the various movies to learn more about the families. We have toured Edison's NJ home/labs and are always facinated by how much our lives have improved due to his inventions - a true genius.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lele0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing