We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This tour is a must!”

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Ranked #1 of 112 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This tour is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I really watch our money, so the $20. per person entrance fee was considered before going here. We had heard so many people say it was a 'must see' that we finally decided to go, and I am glad we took their advice.

We took the self-guided tour and the hand held 'audio guide' worked wonderfully. (Check before you leave on your tour to make certain that your device is working.) Also, go early in the day when there are fewer people, especially if you like to take pictures. (By 11:00 am the line to buy tickets went all the way back to the parking lot!) You are not allowed to go into the homes on the self-guided tour, but the houses all have open doorways allowing easy glass-free access for taking photos; even flash photography is allowed. The grounds and buildings are beautifully maintained, giving you a realistic idea of what life was like back in that era. Now I understand why they charge what they do in order to keep the estate looking in tip top shape.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlinerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,695
    1,079
    220
    37
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to be inspired!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

What a new appreciation for Mr. Edison and Mr. Ford! Fantastic tour...Marc was exceptional... Professional and extremely knowledgeable! Our visit was so enlightening! A must see for all ages!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Paradise under the Porch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We strolled around the grounds of the 2 estates in the late afternoon, and greatly enjoyed ourselves. The Edison house is wonderful: simple, open to the breezes, with various nooks and idiosyncrasies, and hints of their relaxed and unpretentious winter life in early south Florida. We particularly loved the wide high porches, painted in a delicious soft green, where clearly much of their time was well spent. We bought an old photograph of the family and friends sewing and chatting under this porch, a talisman of happiness that we now have on the wall of our own winter escape, in an island I will not name, and which still retains some of the feel of long-ago Florida. One cannot enter the houses, but one does not need to: they are completely open to the outside, via transparent partitions. The estates also have interesting plantings.
The key thing is to slowly savor the atmosphere, and I suspect that joining a tour would prevent this.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NervousNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
317 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Pretty Grounds, Educational for Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Thomas Edison's and Henry Ford's side-by-side winter estates sit on a beautiful river. There are many interesting plants and gardens. We did the self-guided tour which I recommend--we were near a guided tour several times and listened in but found the guides were more annoying than informative with their hokey attempts at humor. February is a good time to visit as Fort Myers celebrates these men all month with different events including the Festival of Lights parade.

Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money on the guided tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently went to the Edison & Ford Winter estates with friends. I found it to be a basic tourist experience. We chose to go on the guided tour and that was hokey and boring. The tour guide made horrible jokes and I felt he ad-libed alot of what he presented. He also did not speak in complete sentences. I thought that the exhibit itself was interesting and there were alot of interesting information that was presented. It is good to see once but I would not go back and see it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing