We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Incredible preservation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edison & Ford Winter Estates

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Toronto
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible preservation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Get the audio tour, you won't be disappointed. We spent about 3 hrs there on a beautiful day. We started with a group of about 10 but soon dispersed at our own pace. If you get a human guide, you have to move at their pace, but with the audio device, you can move along at your own.
The quality of the displays and the decorating for Christmas definitely helped us enjoy this combined site immensely.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank usaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,432
    988
    208
    32
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible business practice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We didn't get to go in so I am only rating customer service. Horrible! It was our last day in Ft.. Myers Beach and we called ahead to check prices. We were told there were student prices and adults were $15.00. So we drove 40 plus minutes and were told $20 + per person. No apology, just " oh, we have volunteers and sometimes they get the pricing wrong". WHAT?! When I explained what happened, we didn't even get an apology. Isn't that considered bad business practice? I tried asking the office, or a manager, but was never allowed to talk to the manager. She was in a "meeting." The woman I spoke to said she would have the manager call and she never did.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TammiZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go during the Holidays.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

All decked out for Christmas this is a must if you are visiting the Ft. Myers area. Learn a lot about history and understand why Edison said "There is only one Ft. Myers and 90 million people are going to find out about it."

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtviewin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Edison & Ford Winter Homes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I went with the family during the day and returned at night for the Christmas lights display (bring your receipt from the day for free entrance at night). I recommend seeing it in December because the houses have Christmas decorations. We went on a guided tour during the day which was about an hour long. We could only see the first floor of the houses via opened doorways and windows because of bug and water damage (several hurricanes hit this area a few years ago). Great for anyone who loves history and/or nature, there are so many beautiful plants. All the staff were very informative and friendly. In a few years they hope to have the pier fixed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tbchick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“'Must See' Ft Myers Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Highly recommend you visit this site, if you haven't already. Nice option for friends and family too. The entry fee and annual passes are resonably priced. The staff and tour guides are friendly and very informative ... the homes and story/history of Thomas Edison and Henry Ford estates are very interesting - Thomas Edison lab and museum with most of his inventions (dry cell battery, movie cameras,etc) are really exceptional. During the Christmas and Holiday period very nicely decorated.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMelq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing