We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$20 very well spent”

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Ranked #1 of 116 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“$20 very well spent”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

For the admission price, you get a hand held audio device that explains all the exihibits. You tour the homes, gardens, lab and wonderful museum of these 2 all-star inventors. The property is well manicured with excellent restorations. My favorite was the extensive museum and films that gave you facts and details of real interest. Great for families with kids,too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,818
    1,115
    224
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Would you believe”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Thomas Edison and Henry Ford homes in Ft Myers makes you know that today is at times based upon yesterday and the wonders that Thomas Edison and Henry Ford have given us. The museum is filled with inventions that have created our lives presently., toasters , irons, cameras,lightbulbs, the list goes on. A tour of the homes brings the reality of these two inventors as humans with their enjoyment of the outdoors. There is also a boat tour on the river which connects so much on how Thomas Edison arrived in Ft Myers and his relationship to the water. The boat tour includes a lunch at a yacht club. Don't mess this sight

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coastie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
352 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“History Lesson”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Edison and Ford Estates are a piece of living history. The buildings are so interesting that I learn something new each time I go. The grounds are lovely too. I appreciate how well maintained the property is. You can hurry through in about an hour or take your time and really see what's there just waiting for you to discover.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FL Native who'd never been here before; loved it.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not what I expected. We thought we'd just do the lab and museum but ended up doing the total self-tour. As a FL native, I love seeing "Old Florida" sites. The grounds were fascinating, the foliage beautiful, the homes surprisingly modest for the Edisons and Fords. My favorite place was the swimming pool, so charmingly old Florida, well, as old as Florida gets sometimes. It's all integrated into a wonderful old suburban neighborhood that my husband and I, as urban planners, enjoyed visiting. The volunteers running the estate were very friendly and informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clmfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too high priced”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just not that much for the price they charge..... The houses aren't all that much to see. The grounds are nice but again the price is way too high.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stacssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing