We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Consistent Pleasure !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cibo

Cibo
Ranked #3 of 823 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistent Pleasure !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We’ve dined at Cibo a number of times in recent years during trips to the area. Now that we are residents, our visits can be more frequent… and that’s a good thing.

Cibo never disappoints in terms of menu and service. Dishes range from classic favorites to creative variations.

Our most recent visit began with fried calamari and, as common as that is, Cibo puts a nice little spin on it by serving it over a bed of wilted arugula and pairing it with two different dipping sauces. And, for you calamari purists, they do not avoid serving the tentacles.

For the main dish, our foursome ended up with two dishes… their “always on the menu” salmon ala piccata and their pasta special. While seemingly every restaurant in the world offers salmon, Cibo makes it more interesting. Perfectly cooked to your preference, their Scottish salmon is harmonized with lemon caper butter, artichokes, parmesan, sweet pea risotto and shaved fennel.

Their ravioli is always terrific, but the one stuffed with short ribs and mascarpone is mouth-watering. The sauce is a wonderful au jus that complements it perfectly along with spring peas.

Every visit has found a pleasant, knowledgeable wait staff, and this occasion was no exception.

It is interesting to note that, during our years of dining here, the ownership changed. However, you would not even know as they have the same menu and most all of the staff. This is sometimes the slippery slope where a previously good establishment breaks the rhythm. Nope… not here… they didn’t miss a beat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarnStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    94
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Homemade, huge portions, wonderful flavor! Excellent entrees, salads and desserts. Best in Ft Myers. You definitely need reservations. Noisy but energetic crowd.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KittyBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upscale and Worth It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food is outstanding. Service was very good. Expensive but worth it for a special night out. We had a very professional waiter ordered steak and seafood and enjoyed every morsel. Typical of a lot of restaurants in Fort Myers, shopping mall storefront but nicely decorated inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M1962mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Cibo’s for the first time since last year. It hasn’t changed at all. Perfect drinks, perfect food, perfect service, and perfect atmosphere. What would you expect from Ft. Myers best restaurant. Craig Komatz has his “eye on the ball” and strives for perfection.
The Veal Chop is still one of the best I ever had and the “Gravey” ( Italian for Red sauce) on the pasta dishes is fresh and tasty. Even us picky Italians will tell you it’s as good as Momma used to make. (High praise for sure)
Thanks Craig for making us feel at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank macavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best in Fort Myers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We read all of the reviews including the negative ones, but we wanted to give it a go. It was our last night in Fort Myers and we had already been to most of the other 'must go' places. Stuck in the middle of a strip mall with Mercedes, BMWs, etc. all over the place was a weird dichotomy. We ventured in as a party of 5 without a reservation. There was some hesitation from the host and we figured it was because 3 of our party of 5 were 12 years and under. We have been through that deal at other places where they either don't let us in or seat us far away from the action because we brought our kids. We travel everywhere with our kids and they have exceptional manners and adventuresome tastes. Much to our relief, the kids did not affect the host at all, and when he saw them he said, "Oh, I can get the five of you in a booth. We're good."

Our server was Wally and he was one of the top five waiters we have ever had. He gave honest opinions of the dishes and specials, was creative and made an entree of an appetizer when my wife and I were stuck between three entrees, and made the kids feel at home.

The only mark I would give them less than a 5 is ambience. It is a strip mall after all. My wife and I talked to each other 2/3 of the way the through the meal and asked ourselves if we could give anything but a glowing review. We simply can't.

Here's the whole deal. Everything from the opening bread to dessert was great. Our extremely affordable priced Cabernet of '09 vintage and specials that were less than several entrees in the menu were a great surprise. The lobster ravioli, Gorgonzola crusted filet, grouper, and spaghetti/meatballs were all great.

Not only was it our best meal in Fort Myers without even a close second, we felt the value was a deal.

If you go, ask for Wally, and tell him the Minnesota family said to come here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StartingFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing