We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
chcago, Illinois
1 review
“A Home away from Home”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel - we couldn't be happier.
Since we need a handicapped room, everything was perfect, especially the walk- in shower.

The front desk staff were very pleasant, especially Cheryl and Tim??
I mustn't forget the breakfast staff, especially Shannon and Rita.
Shannon always greeted guests with a smile and a "good morning":
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay every winter, and look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpchcago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    253
    84
    36
    24
See reviews for
323
249
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Residence Inn at Ft. Myers-Sanibel but it will not be our last. We stayed for three weeks and loved it. The accommodations are very comfortable, the amenities are excellent, and the staff is just terrific, friendly, pleasant, proactive, and responsive. The value is excellent. It's the staff that brings it all together. The best example is a woman who works the breakfast area. Her name is Shannon and she was welcoming, solicitous, helpful, very hard working, and seemed to genuinely enjoy her job and her guests. The Fitness Room is excellent, as are the pool and whirlpool. The only real complaint we had, and it is more of an annoyance than anything else, was the selection of television channels. It was limited and did not include PBS or MSNBC and the only movie channel was HBO. But that was minor. This is a great hotel for families, people traveling with pets as we were, and couples. It's also located within easy access to Sanibel-Captiva Islands and Ft. Myers Beach. If you get a chance, stay there!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice accommodation. Rooms were fairly roomy. All appliances were relatively new and working well. Lots of well lighted parking and within a 150 yards of a small mall containing a Publix food store. The Inn has a full breakfast each morning with plenty of choice lots of seating for parties of two up to twelve. Old Town Ft. Myers is about a half hour ride. Sanibel and Captiva are only a few minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel. I arrived on a Wednesday night with my husband and had reserved a one-bedroom with with two queen beds and a balcony overlooking the pool. Check-in was quick and efficient and I received the room I had booked. The staff seemed to be pleasant, so no problem there. I must say that the hotel was fully booked and it was not as clean and maintained as my last visit. The computers in the lobby were filthy with spill marks all over the screens. The floors were sticky and so were the tables in the dining room. My room was also not so clean. The glass sliding doors to the closet had all kinds of splash marks and who knows what on them. The stainless steel appliances in the kitchen were filthy on the outside. I advised the front desk that this room needs a "really" good cleaning, so maybe they will do that. The fitness room also was dirty. I wanted to go to the pool, but it was packed. There are only eight chaise lounges and all were taken at 10:00 a.m. The "chicken barbecue" on Wednesday night was disgusting. They served a frozen chicken patty along with some barbecue sauce. I have stayed at the Residence Inn in Port St. Lucie for barbecue night, and they served real chicken barbecued and it was delicious. Also, beer and wine were NOT served as most Residence Inn's do on Monday-Thursday.

Again, in all fairness to this hotel, February is prime season in this area and it is a very busy time. I suspect this might be the reason the hotel was not up to par. Everyone wants to check-in and get settled and no one wants to wait to have their room ready. But, no one wants a dirty hotel either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatNick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I spent five days here in early February for our yearly Birthday(mine)..Anniversary(shared )bash..and we had a great time..We started off with an upgrade which is always a bonus..from a one bedroom suite to a two..this meant three TV's unfortuately whats on get's no better..on to important facts..the suite was extremely comfortable..as were the beds..which from my experience all of Marriots hotel beds are..the breakfast was the usual fare.."I'm a porridge and fruit and nut man myself..make of that what you will... there was plenty of choice to satisfy others who have similar tastes ..plus a fair amount of artery clogging fare as well..which is how it should be..Nearly finished for those who are getting bored...the staff of of the friendly disposition type..and the place is sparkling ..Recommended..Oh...One more thing ..there is a large shopping outlet Mall over the road..and an even larger one a few miles down the road..Bring Large wallet/multiple Credit Cards..

Room Tip: A prayer to one's favourite Diety might work..If you do hit on the answer of how to get to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avalonsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

There were a number of reasons I didn't care for this place. I really did like the way it was decorated - nicely done. But that's about where the good part ended. For a suite, this was the smallest unit I've ever been in. The pillows were uncomfortable - and they didn't even have a plastic dry cleaning bag in the closet which is standard for hotels. The front desk was so unhelpful. They didn't have any recommendations when I asked about a fishing excursion. They suggested I drive and look down a street that has signs and pick one. What hotel does that? Also, when I tried to print my boarding pass, it wouldn't work. After several unsuccessful attempts, I went to the front desk. She told me to try again and if it didn't work she'd come over to help. Again, who does that? Of course, I tried again and it didn't work. She didn't come over but instead had me use the computer in her office, which did work. It didn't look like the fire pit was working (didn't bother to ask about it). When I asked about the tennis courts (which are mini), I was give a lukewarm response too.

Breakfast was complementary and a lot of people came down every morning. It was your standard buffet with plastic plates, cups, and silverware. Nothing special. It's a short drive to Fort Myers Beach or Sanibel Island but not many restaurants right near the hotel. The outlet mall is directly across the street.

There are so many hotels available in the area that I wouldn't ever consider coming back even though it does have a fresh new look. It makes me realize how important the service of front line staff is, and combined with other small details, they can make or break your hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iam_intrigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Valued Guest.....Thank you for your review. First and foremost, I am truly sorry that you experienced such uncaring actions by our Associates.

I am honestly perplexed with the lack of interest by our Front Desk Associate on your request for fishing information...at the very least, you should have been shown where there are numerous brochures available in our lower lobby, for our guests interests. It is our goal, to not only meet, but to exceed our guests expectations and I am dissappointed that we feel short on yours.

Your feedback is important, so If you would be so kind to contact me either by phone or email below, in order for us to further discuss your issues and I can ascertain exactly when you stayed with us and immediately address your concerns to ensure that this will not occur again in the future.

Again, please accept my sincerest apology and I hope that you will allow us to show you that what you encounted is certainly not the norm. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
gm.rswrs@jhmhotels.com
239.415.4150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was terrific. We had a wonderfully appointed little suite. Great little kitchenette and lounging room with separate bedroom. It was very nicely decorated (trendy) and clean. Beds were very comfy too. The breakfast was very good with plenty of options and continued hot food was put on the buffet. There was staff cleaning tables and asking to take away items we were finished with. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean. The public areas were open and airy with lots of windows. The hotel was conveniently located to shopping and the entrance bridge to Sanibel. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
To our valued guest.....

It is indeed very gratifying for us to hear from our satisfied guests. We work hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and I will certainly share your posting with our entire staff.

Thank you for your posting and we look forward to welcoming your back, should your travels bring you to Fort Myers area in the future!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,060 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing