We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Residence Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best Residence Inns”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a really nice hotel with a great location. Associates were friendly, helpful, and able to provide directions and suggestions. Public space is clean and well kept. Free breakfast was very good with a few different items everyday. Loved the spacious 2 bedroom suite that I shared with my kids. Really close to Ft. Myers beach and Sanibel Island. Outlets across the street were good on a cloudy morning while we waited for the sun to come out. Grocery store next to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esm123_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
To our valued past guests....

I am happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, as this is our main goal for the guests. I will definitely share your post, with the Staff as it is always nice to hear that their efforts are acknowledged. We do our best to make everyone feel at home.

Should your travels bring you back this way, we hope you will again, give us the priviledge to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    249
    82
    36
    23
See reviews for
315
247
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our fifth year coming to this Residence Inn and it is always wonderful. Every desk attendant we spoke to was helpful and pleasant (thank you, Katy, Cheryl, and Margarita!!), the breakfast room manager was delightful (thank you, Shannon!!), and the breakfast attendants were very efficient at replacing items and keeping the room immaculate. The entire staff could not have been nicer. The breakfast offerings are very varied and always included scrambled eggs, a meat, a potato, and another offering such as French toast or breakfast sandwiches plus fresh fruit, make-your-wn waffles, yoghurt, oatmeal, cold cereal, etc, etc. We never needed lunch. Light dinners are offered two weekdays and we really enjoyed the bbq sandwiches and salads when we arrived tired on our first day in Florida. We had reserved a one bedroom suite but, since a tour group had all the one bedrooms, we were upgraded to a two bedroom for our entire stay. We had requested a suite on a high floor overlooking the marshlands and we were given a two bedroom with the exact view we requested. The suite was immaculate, the maid service was excellent, the bed was comfortable, and we loved having a full kitchen where we could prepare dinner when we wished. The hotel is in a quiet area of Ft. Myers with minimal traffic, but next to a small center with a grocery and across the street from a Tanger outlet that is landscaped and set back from the road to maintain the quiet atmosphere. Fifteen minutes from lots of great restaurants and an easy drive to rt. 75 and Naples. We can't wait to come back next year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marshes. They're fascinating to watch and we often saw flocks of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
To our loyal past guests.....

We are truly honored when we hear that guests have visited us many times, and for that, we thank you for giving us the opportunity!

It is always great to hear that we have provided exemplary service to our guests, as we do our utmost to not only meet, but exceed our guests expectations. As the General Manager, it makes me proud to be affiliated with such a great Team. I will certainly share your posting with everyone.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and remaining a loyal customer and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to "your home away from home" again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, FL (ex-new yorker)
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We checked in around 1:30 and we were nicely greated by Cheryl who assigned us an upgraded two bedroom, two bath suite with kitchenette. She was extremely helpful and even called a restaurant we were interested in dining. The room was spotless and very comfortable with nice beds and very spacious rooms. We loved the very clean outdoor spa and large pool.
They even had an outdoor seating area with gas fired rock burner. The location is wonderful with adjacent Publix Supermarket and Outet stores across nearby highway. Only about 2 miles from Sanabel Bridge and a few miles to other beaches of Ft Myers off Estero Blvd.
Restaurants off Tamiani are also only a few miles. The morning free breakfast is excellent and with a nice variety of items including eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit and the help quickly cleared our tables and provided extra coffee. One of the best Residence Inns we have stayed at and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Request room on poolside of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edenpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
To our valued past guests....

First and foremost, I want to thank you for your kind posting. It is always great to hear that our guests were able to enjoy not only our hotel, but the surrounding areas, as well. I will be sure to share this with the entire staff!

As far as our location, it doesn't get much better than being nestled between two of the best beaches in Florida, Sanibel Island and Fort Myers Beach!

We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What an amazing value! We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. As soon as we entered the lobby, we were pleasantly surprised. The place is decorated with bright lively colors and very invitin. We were in awe as we entered our suite! Clean, modern, nice balcony. It was like our own little apartment. The free breakfast was great, included many hot items. Nice pool too. Also, there is a very large grocery store next to the hotel. How convenient! They also had bike rentals which was nice because there's a nice quiet beach two miles away. Looking forward to going back again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terdav0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Valued guest....thank you for your kind review!

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us, as this is our main goal for our guests. I will definitely share your posting, as our Staff likes to hear that their efforts are acknowledged. We do our best to make everyone feel at home.

Looking forward to being able to welcome you back on your return.

All the best for a great 2013!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the new year holiday. The location is great for people to visit Sanibel island. It's right across from the outlet mall, and also inside the area, there's a supermarket. So in terms of location, we really like it.

The room was clean and spacious. It's not fancy but it's comfortable. The staff is helpful. The morning breakfast had a great selection.

Overall, it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayu312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Valued past guest......thank you so much for your posting.

Your comments on our location, is absolutely what we believe to be one of our most valuable assets. It doesn't get much better than being nestled between both Fort Myers and Sanibel Island beaches! I will certainly share your thoughts with our Staff.

Should your travels bring you back to SW Florida again, we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence Inn Fort Myers - Sanibel.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for four days, December 18-22, 2012. The hotel was convenient to the Sanibel Causeway, shopping, and other services. The drive from Southwest Florida International Airport was direct and easy. We were staying for a brief, leisurely break before Christmas, trying to catch some good weather and a change of pace from work and the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy in New Jersey, with an eight-day blackout and no heat. The hotel was comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We reserved a one-bedroom unit, and the staff gave us a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite with a full kitchen and living room area. The kitchen had full-size appliances and enough kitchenware to make meals, which we always do because of dietary issues and preferences. The hotel was clean and pleasant. They provided a complimentary full breakfast every day with plenty of good choices and a large, sunny, clean dining area with friendly staff who circulated among the tables, offering extra coffee and picking up remnants from meals. They even had a variety of themed late-afternoon/early evening get-togethers with light food during the week. The base cost of the room we reserved was only $109.00 per night, the price for a single-bedroom suite, and they gave us the upgrade at no extra charge. I realize that we stayed there off season, but we still appreciate the perks.

We like Sanibel and Captiva Islands, and the hotel was situated very close to the causeway, which made driving easy. The hotel is located near a strip mall with a Publix supermarket, a gas station, and other stores and services. Across the main road were outlets with a variety of stores. Even though we were near a strip mall, we had a nice view to the west over tidal flats where we could see wading birds feeding in the distance, and the Sanibel Lighthouse light was visible each night.

The exercise room had decent equipment. There were other features we didn't use, such as the pool and barbecue grills.

The staff members were friendly and helpful. We found the place very relaxing. We even had some work to do and were able to take advantage of the free internet service and the comfortable, spacious desk area. Each room had plenty of places to plug in electronic devices that we used while we were there. About the only criticism I have is that I think the carpet could be replaced in some areas, as it was getting a bit worn in spots. But that is a very minor issue in view of our pleasant stay. We would eagerly return.

Room Tip: Suites on the west side of the hotel have a nicer view. We liked the higher floor because we could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 161945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
To our valued past guest....

On behalf of our entire Staff, I want to thank you for your complimentary posting. I will certainly share it with everyone.

It is always great to hear that we have provided exemplary service and that our guests have been able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. We do our utmost to not only meet, but exceed our your expectations. As the General Manager, it makes me proud to be affiliated with such a great hotel and the Team behind it.

Again, thank you for taking time to share your experience and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to your "home away from home" again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

For the area it is a pretty good deal for the quality, location, price and amenities. The king/bedroom unit was perfect. The breakfast offerings were exceptional, something for everyone's tastes. It is not far from a preserve and beaches. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces west
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
On behalf of our entire Staff, thank you for taking your time to post your kind review of our hotel.

We are always happy to see that our guests enjoyed their time with us. I will definitely share your posting.

Should your travels bring you back to Fort Myers, we hope that you will again, give us the opportunity to welcome you.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing