We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Inn Review Ft. Myers Sanibel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Residence Inn Review Ft. Myers Sanibel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very pleased with our recent stay at Residence Inn on September 13th. The hotel exceeded our expectation for overall quality, amenities, and service. Very clean and well manicured property, and the breakfast was excellent-easily a 20.00 value for our family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyTraveler0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    256
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
329
250
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and were very impressed. I have stayed at quite a few Residence Inns, as they suit us- giving our grown up son ( and us) privacy,whilst still staying as a family unit.

We arrived fairly late, but were immediately impressed by the welcome given, in this modern, clean, new build facility. We had booked a one bed suite, but were given a comp upgrade to a two bed suite on the fifth floor.

The suite was exactly as expected in a Residence Inn - very clean, with comfortable beds and excellent facilities, three flat screen cable TVs. The hotel has a very nice pool, which is unfortunately in shade during the morning.

The breakfast is always a variable factor in my opinion of the hotel - this one was excellent, nice hot food, a good selection of fruit and yoghurts and the staff were very quick to clear away tables and did a great job keeping the buffet re-stocked, even though the area was fairly busy. The one gripe was no sliced bread for toast, but plenty of bagels and muffins.

The hotel is right opposite the Tanger Outlet Mall (though we much preferred the Miramar Mall a few miles away) and is very handy for the lovely Sanibel / Captiva Islands.

All in all, a very nice place I would certainly return and have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff are a definite plus to an already good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a last minute reservation and I am so glad we stayed here. This hotel is less than a mile from the island bridge which is what I wanted. It is located next to a shopping area that has a Publix and liquor store plus a sports bar

We arrived early (around noon) and just went in to see if our room was ready. The front desk clerks were very nice and pleasant, they even upgraded our room to a balcony room (Room 512). The balcony over looks the BBQ pit (did not use) and you can see the bridge and the Sanibel lighthouse!

The feeling I got when I walked into the main lobby was a fresh breath. It is very open and decorated with bright colors. Very inviting and pleasant to stay at

The room was very clean and well put together. The bed were comfortable with lots of pillows (requested) and aery plush comforter.

The suite was two rooms, with two LG flat screen TVs ( great reception) free WIFI (no problem connecting on my tablet) The kitchen was quaint, with a full size microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator and garbage disposal. Utensils, ;pots and pans, plates and glassware are provided along with paper towels and dishwasher soap, bar towels. This sitting area was comfortable and the balcony looked out towards the island.


We used the pool area at night and it was pleasant and quiet. I did notice the taped bricks near the hot tub but didn't think anything of them. The pool area was very clean and maintained

We took advantage of the breakfast and it was very pleasant and laid out in a typical fashion of a continental breakfast. Nothing spectacular but it was edible.

Being that we went to the island everyday, sand returned with us and luckily they have an onsite laundry facility ($1.50 for half hr washers and dryers, they have soap at the desk for a charge).

The front desk agents were very nice, offering tips on where to go and tings to do. They even lent us beach chairs, umbrellas and floats for our adventures. That was great!

All in all this was a VERY nice hotel and reasonably priced. As the title says if I can't afford to stay on the island then this is the closest thing to paradise you can stay.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor and get a balcony room for spectacular sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We decided on an impromptu trip to Sanibel to celebrate my mother's 56th birthday. After looking through a couple of hotel books, saw an ad for this hotel, and thought we'd stop and see. Boy were we surprised! The lobby decorations are bright and cheerful pinks, lime greens, hammered silver, bamboo and creams. Very modern and fun without being over-the-top. The rooms are beautiful as well. Ours was done in rich reds and dark woods - again with a modern flair. New LG HDTV flat screens, granite counter tops in the full kitchenette and bathroom vanity. Full sized dish washer and fridge in the kitchen, however - disappointed that there is only a two-burner flat cooktop. There is also a full sized microwave, two-slice toaster and a small coffee maker. All kitchen essentials are provided as well. The living room is small, but functional. The sofa pulls out into a full size sleeper bed. Our room had a small balcony with the option to leave a screen door open of we wanted. The separate suite bedroom had two queen-size pillow top beds, with really nice quality sheets. Breakfast was complimentary and delicious! Handmade waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy, oatmeal, muffins, bagels & toast, yogurt and fruit. Pool is beautiful, but not heated. Very nice whirlpool spa. There's a nice fitness center and a 2 computer "business/Internet" center if you need to use a computer, or print something. Overall - a really nice hotel, and one we will definitely be coming back to!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iiqtkimii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Marriot Residence Inn, Ft Meyers, Sanibel during the past Labor Day Weekend. I was very disappointed with the bad condititions of the hotel such as: The Outdoor Hot Tub was out of order for the entire stay, Cracked Tiles in both Elevators, 1 Elevator out of Service, The Rugs in the hallways were very dirty and needed to be vacuumed, the carpet in the stairwell had bubblegum (pink) during our entire stay, the outdoor barbeque grill was filth and the igniter button was broken, all grill utensils were filthy such as the grill brush and utensils and germ ridden. The pool water was filthy and full of hair and unknown debris floating in the water. The Pool area had taped off bricks and also the outdoor Hot Tub. On one occasion while at the pool I witnessed a child who picked up one of the bricks near the taped off area, and was going to throw it into the pool but was stopped when I alerted the father of the child who stopped him which could have caused severe injury to the swimmer in the pool. I have stayed at this Residence in the past and never have I seen the conditions this bad. I am a Marriot Rewards member and I am considering cancelling my membership. This was suuposed tp be a realxing weekend by the pool and I am did not get what I came for.

Room Tip: Don'y go during the Labor Day Weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayFan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, GA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed from Friday, 8.31-Tuesday, 9.4. We got in late (around 9:30 ish) Friday night and had our choice of two rooms--a suite (separate bedroom, with 2 queens and a balcony) or a studio with a king. We chose the king.

It was perfect for the two of us. Kitchen had everything we needed (no oven, two burner cooktop, full sized 'fridge, microwave, dishwasher, all dishware/cutlery). Room was a good size, tv was huge for a hotel/condo!

We didn't use the pool, but the husband went down to breakfast twice. He appreciated the choice of hot and cold food. Publix is walking distance (we shop at one at home, happy they are all over in FL), Tanger Outlet across the street if you are inclined to shop, and 20 minutes to Sanibel-great location.

The hotel has planned activities (sheet posted by the door in the suite) for several days a week (we didn't avail ourselves to the cookies on Monday, tho!). Small 'convenience store' by the front desk, open 24/7. Laundry facilities, pool, etc. (didn't use those either, but nice to know they are all there).

The ONLY problem we had was with the internet. For some reason, the wireless would not work after the first night reliably, then not at all. Called the front desk, they said they'd send up an ethernet cable (I offered to come down, but they insisted). Within minutes-literally-they were at the door. Problem solved. My iPod worked fine, just not the laptop. Odd, but workable! (and yes, i had some work i had to do...)

Every time we saw someone they asked how our stay was. Whenever we passed the front desk, the folks manning it always asked how our stay was, and if there was anything they could do/get for us. I mean--EVERY time. Nice.

Tim was especially helpful and incredibly friendly-a real credit to the hotel.

For longer trips (a week at a time), we will probably continue to rent a condo on the island; however, we make several shorter trips each year, and this will be our new place....we got an incredible deal, to boot!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back facing the pool have balconies. Studio has an open floor plan-no wall separating t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieannL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose the Residence Inn because our plans came about rather quickly with very little time to plan and being that it was a holiday weekend, all the good beach hotels were full. The Residence Inn Marriott in Fort Myers/Sanibel is a good location and really nice rooms. We got a 2 queen bed suite with a balcony and had plenty of room. Our room was overlooking the pool and you could not hear the crowd of people down in the pool area at all, so we were very happy! I would have to say the only problem was getting clean towels. The lady cleaning our room spoke no English. She went to get her supervisor and her supervisor could speak very little English. That was a bit frustrating, esp. when we kept pointing to the towels and they still didn't understand. This went on for approx. 5 mins. and finally the light bulb went on. Got 3 bath towels, 2 hand towels and no washcloths....oh, well. We'd still stay there again for an overnight visit. Beds were okay...but then we're spoiled by our bed at home like everybody else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJShatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,072 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing