We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters to Older Crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
VA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Caters to Older Crowd”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you're not yet eligible for Social Security you might well feel out of place at this hotel, which very clearly caters to retirees. That said, these folks are well behaved, so you probably don't have to worry about some wild party in the next room.

Speaking of rooms, this was very nice. There's a living area/kitchen, as well as a bedroom that is separated by a door. The bathroom is in the bedroom section. Bed was comfy.

There is an almost full kitchen. Unlike many Residence Inns, this one lacks an oven, but had two burners, a microwave, a dishwasher and full-size refrigerator/freezer. All dishes and utensils were clean.

Free Internet was fast. Two TVs, one in each room, but hardly anything to watch unless you want news, sports or the four networks. No Comedy Central? Even my mother watches Colbert.

The real downside here was the front desk. Utterly unenthusiastic, if not flat out bothered, by the sight of a customer. When I asked for late checkout (a Marriott Rewards perk) it was clearly a major hassle and the best they could do was 1 p.m. I just left at noon, fed up.

Location is in a strip mall that is dead save for a Publix supermarket and a bar/restaurant. For anything else you must drive to US-41.

Overall, I suppose I could stay there again, but would probably look for other options.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    253
    84
    36
    24
See reviews for
323
249
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We came down to visit spring training and also to visit Sanibel Island. The nice thing about the location of this hotel is that it allowed us to do both very easily. It is particularly close to Sanibel, but only a 20 minute drive to see either the Twins or Red Sox in spring training. It felt like a home away from home, thanks to having a very comfortable living room with full kitchen. The daily breakfast was a bonus, as was the dinner that they provide several nights a week. Although the dinner was not fancy, it was free (!) and perfect for kids. We enjoyed the spaghetti and meatballs very much. If you want an easy and inexpensive meal within walking distance from the hotel, there are a couple of restaurants nearby, and also a Publix supermarket. We particularly enjoyed the Chinese restaurant, which had good quality take out food. The staff of the hotel was friendly and helpful. Our only negative comment would be that there was quite a bit of noise from people using the pool at night. We would be happy to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This was our first stay at a Resicence Inn and it compared very well to other all suites hotels. Our two room suite had everything you would expect. A nice living room with large flat screen TV, full kitchen, and a large bedroom and average bathroom. We choose this hotel because it was just across the bridge from Sanibel Island and 50% less than anything on the island. Well worth the savings.

Only complaint was considerable mold in the bathroom.

Room Tip: In above the pool select a higher floor as the pool can be noisy. Rooms on the western side have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes4317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is well-maintained and clean, considering the onslaught of tourists that it faces on a daily basis. Our room was clean and comfortable, and well suited for our week-long stay. The daily breakfast was a bonus, and was actually quite good as free breakfasts go. The front desk folks were friendly and accommodating...

A great aspect of this hotel is that it is minutes from both Fort Myers Beach & Sanibel Island, so that you can go to either one depending upon your mood...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikingFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights in January 2012 and found it to be a fine choice. There are a number of guests who come and stay for an extended period every year, giving the place a homey, almost apartment-like feel. These return guests are a valuable resource, they are friendly, know the area restaurants and attractions and are willing to share their knowledge with newcomers. The front desk staff are also excellent - knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is truly superior, a wide array of good, hot choices. I looked forward to it every day. Housekeeping was the only weak point. It was difficult to communicate specifics with cleaning staff due to language barrier and room cleanliness was really below standard - walking on the carpet in white socks on our first night resulting in black bottom socks as just one example.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony don't have an oven and vice versa, decide which is more important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wibgo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed a weekend at this Residence Inn. It is just a short drive to Sanibel where we spent the majority of our time at the beach. This hotel has a pool and whirlpool as well as a sport court and fire pit. It is your standard Residence Inn pool, no frills, but adequate and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet was fine, get up early before the crowds for the best selection. We appreciate the complimentary computer access in the lobby, especially for printing directions to restaurants. The room was clean and beds are pretty comfortable. The manager was pleasant and helpful. I did notice there were quite a few pets on the premises, including some small dogs that were barking quite a bit on their balconies.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farawayMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The front desk was very helpful, especially Kate. I was very impressed with the breakfast and the social evening plans for occasional suppers. If I could critique our experience, it would be that our shower was in desperate need of a good cleaning/ grouting was showing evidence of mold. As well morning papers should be delivered to the doors of the rooms as ALL five mornings we were never able to get a paper.We were always down to breakfast before 8 am and witnessed people hoarding,couples each taking their own and then taking with them to their rooms. This may seem petty, however it was irritating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,057 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing