We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay this time”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We made plans for a week long stay here because 2 previous short stays during the past year were perfect in every way. The difference this time was noticeable: staff not as friendly (in particular a new young girl who works on Sunday afternoon), the evening meals although welcomed were not of the same quality we remembered. In fact the "shreddded chicken" was unedible (over microwaved). Breakfast was just so-so (cold french toast). The kitchen staff were very pleasant, hardworking and friendly. We also noticed this time that the facility is beginning to look tired. The ceiling in the dining area is pealing right over the tables where food is eaten, the rugs are in need of a good cleaning, furniture in suite was worn and the linen never looked fresh and new. Also, the pool was closed for the whole week due to a filter problem and no one ever informed us of this...we found out by seeing a typewritten paged scotch-taped to the entrance. This was just not our usual Marriott experience. We probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor with a balcony to avoid noise of children running and playing upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayway11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    247
    81
    35
    23
See reviews for
314
243
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We got a good AAA rate and stayed four nights at this hotel in late October, 2011 (two adults). Everything in the suite was in very good condition, including the kitchen which was nicely stocked. We decided to stay in this area because it's close to Sanibel, which is where we went every day to fish on the pier and use the beach. As a result we didn't even look at the pool so I can't comment on that but the fitness center looked like it had some nice equipment. They have a very good breakfast every day with a few hot items. There are two computers available for guest use, which is nice for those of us who don't travel with computers, but they have an old operating system and need to be upgraded. The only thing I would slightly complain about is the air conditioning, which is located in a closet by the bedroom. It sends cool air mainly into the bedroom, which results in a bedroom that is much cooler than the rest of the suite. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Absolutely spotless clean, fantastic morning buffet, rooms incredible, nice pool, fire pit and basketball/tennis court, even supper was included in two nights!

An absolute gem near near Sanibel toll booth, close to Ft. Myers too.

Manager Tim Schaefer is a great host and look forward to returning.

Don't hesitate to stay here!!! I promise!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luker350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This site was not our first choice. As host couple, we had booked a small reunion group of professionals in mid-October at a nearby site, but we were advised of the unexpected closing of that property. That manager arranged for our group (10 couples) to be accepted at this site with no change in cost to us.
We were most impressed with the friendly staff: the front desk, meetings manager, housekeeping, and the kitchen staff. Ample room was available for the group to gather. Our two room suite was adequate to entertain the other nine couples.
Breakfast was the most extended buffet we have encountered and was varied each day. Several healthy foods were available and our group was most pleased with the offerings.
The rooms were clean, comfortable, adequately stocked, and maintained well. All couples in the group were extremely complimentary. A few extended their stay and were given the same rate. The three diamonds rating of this Inn cannot adequately describe this site.
Overall, the facilities, staff, and location of this Residence Inn was beyond expectations and helped make this a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C Earl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
319 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed at this RI 2x before. It is brand new, opened late Sept 2009. It is a nice hotel, handy to the beach & Sanibel/Captiva. There still are problems with housekeeping, even though management keeps trying to get them on track. Great breakfast, but don't pin your hopes on the weekly Tue/Wed manager's receptions. After staying at the Naples RI where they have Mon/Tue/Wed, this Fort Myers RI can't hold a candle food/drink wise to the Naples RI manager's receptions.

Don't get me wrong. It is a very nice hotel & we most likely will stay here again next year on our annual vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onehappyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a 2 room suite. It was spotless and very functional with full kitchen, living room and bedroom. The breakfast has a lot of variety and changes a little every day.

Location is great, just a couple of minutes from the bridge to Sanibel ($6 toll roundtrip). Right next door is a shopping center with a bar/grill, super market and 7-11. Not far to good restraunts in ft myers too - Kenwood Grill (tripadvisor #1) is 15 min away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel was new, up-to-date, and immaculate. The room had everything you could need and the bedding is SO comfortable. This is a great location- just minutes to the Sanibel causeway and across from Tanger outlets. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Being that the breakfast is included, it is much more than just a continental breakfast. It was actually quite good with lots of choices. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The suites are just a little bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenbflohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing