We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight before Twins Spring Training game”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Edison at Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edison at Midtown
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quick overnight before Twins Spring Training game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We pulled in late and were greeted cheerfully by front desk staff. Our room was too tight for a family of four each with a bag of luggage. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel was very average but good in a pinch. Dunkin Donuts is right out front for your morning coffee fix, very handy. Next time we go to Fort Myers for Spring Training we'll find a hotel closer to Hammond Stadium.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    96
    54
    17
    22
See reviews for
92
93
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I contacted Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic District for a group room block for my wedding. The sales staff was attentive and helpful. The front desk was polite and generous with their time to show me the meeting rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyScott0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear KellyScott0114,
Thank You for considering accommodations at our hotel for your wedding. I will pass your nice comments to our associates. we look forward to host your group. Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

There was nothing wrong with hotel itself or the desk staff. The room was also clean and spacious. The reason I have only rated it average is breakfast was not included and when compared to other hotels we have stayed in it was not good value. Sleep quality was also poor as some other guests were extremely noisy most of the night in particular one female - someone (I think a staff member) did eventually knock on door and it did go quiet for a while but it soon started up again and continued on and off until morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martintracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erving, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just returned from our spring training week in Ft. Myers. My wife and I took her 90-year old mother as her birthday present. I booked the room online and hoped for the best after reading the reviews. I don't know when those reviews were written but we were very happy with our room. There was ample room for the three of us with two queen size beds. It was great to have the refrigerator and the microwave too. The room was clean and well-maintained. The staff responded within minutes to our request to oil the bathroom door as it started squeaking and was most annoying during the night. Yes, the wifi wasn't so fast but quite suitable for our email needs. The entire staff - from front desk (Lindsay, Deka, Patti, Courtney, Danielle) to the housekeeping to the maintainers were always smiling and helpful. Nate was a sweetheart shuttling my wife and her mom to and from "girls dinner out" when I went to a night Red Sox game. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again. Great job HI Fort Myers Downtown!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Jan R,
Thank You for your feedback. It is always great to hear that our staff was able to exceed your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading our high speed internet services. Your review is shared with our entire team and we all look forward to your next stay with us, Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Let me start off by saying this isn't a terrible hotel by any means. The staff is nice and everything is clean. But it's not really in downtown, it's within walking distance to downtown. It's a 2 minute drive or a ten minute walk and it's right off of a really busy street. The rooms are average and if you're traveling with a group of people they're big enough to share without everyone going crazy. Also they're basically cleaning all day. We got woken up every morning from them vacuuming around 9am and then listening to the clean staff carry on loud conversations. Granted a lot of the conversations were funny but it was still wicked early to get woken up every morning when you're on vacation. The wifi is basically unusable, wifi in hotels is usually pretty bad but I'm pretty sure the dial up I had in the 90's was better than this. So unless you're getting a banging discount I would suggest checking out the hotels that are actually in downtown or if you don't care about being near downtown check out some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smaddox42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear smaddox42,

Thank you for the candid review of our property. We are happy to read your compliments of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We greatly appreciate your constructive comments regarding the WiFi service and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. As we review our Internet competitiveness, your comments will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortfalls. hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

we chose this hotel at last minute, the service was impeccable, the room was clean, the hotel location is off 41 but its was very quiet as far any noise from outside. The outdoor pool was full of guest during our stay, the hotel was full but it was great to relax. The breakfast was not compliementary but the buffet was good for the price or else i would give it 5 star.we will return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krammul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear krammul G,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We have a full service restaurant at our hotel, next year please take advantage of the breakfast package which includes complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your visit.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The purpose of our trip was to attend some spring training practices. We stayed for 2 nights, found the location to be good. It was quiet despite being located off Route 41. The breakfast was standard for IHG chain. The front desk was pleasant and efficient. There were a lot of folks checking in when we arrived. It looks like the place could use a facelift, but it wasn't overly grungy or dirty. It met our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Imzpickle,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We were glad to see you had an enjoyable time at the hotel. We appreciate your kind comments for the staff as the high scores for Service & Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#30 of 58 in Fort Myers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfront
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison at Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison at Midtown

Property: Edison at Midtown
Address: 2431 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edison at Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edison at Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing