We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Price”
Review of Edison at Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edison at Midtown
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Allston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Price”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Let me start off by saying this isn't a terrible hotel by any means. The staff is nice and everything is clean. But it's not really in downtown, it's within walking distance to downtown. It's a 2 minute drive or a ten minute walk and it's right off of a really busy street. The rooms are average and if you're traveling with a group of people they're big enough to share without everyone going crazy. Also they're basically cleaning all day. We got woken up every morning from them vacuuming around 9am and then listening to the clean staff carry on loud conversations. Granted a lot of the conversations were funny but it was still wicked early to get woken up every morning when you're on vacation. The wifi is basically unusable, wifi in hotels is usually pretty bad but I'm pretty sure the dial up I had in the 90's was better than this. So unless you're getting a banging discount I would suggest checking out the hotels that are actually in downtown or if you don't care about being near downtown check out some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smaddox42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear smaddox42,

Thank you for the candid review of our property. We are happy to read your compliments of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We greatly appreciate your constructive comments regarding the WiFi service and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. As we review our Internet competitiveness, your comments will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortfalls. hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    96
    55
    17
    22
See reviews for
92
94
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

we chose this hotel at last minute, the service was impeccable, the room was clean, the hotel location is off 41 but its was very quiet as far any noise from outside. The outdoor pool was full of guest during our stay, the hotel was full but it was great to relax. The breakfast was not compliementary but the buffet was good for the price or else i would give it 5 star.we will return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krammul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear krammul G,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We have a full service restaurant at our hotel, next year please take advantage of the breakfast package which includes complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your visit.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The purpose of our trip was to attend some spring training practices. We stayed for 2 nights, found the location to be good. It was quiet despite being located off Route 41. The breakfast was standard for IHG chain. The front desk was pleasant and efficient. There were a lot of folks checking in when we arrived. It looks like the place could use a facelift, but it wasn't overly grungy or dirty. It met our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Imzpickle,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We were glad to see you had an enjoyable time at the hotel. We appreciate your kind comments for the staff as the high scores for Service & Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My company chose this hotel to use as a "home base" for a hearing we had in Ft. Myers. The location is convenient to downtown, as well as to many restaurants. We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, but the service we received was what set this place apart. We were met by Natasha at the front desk who made sure that we received the accommodations we were promised. (Breakfast vouchers, conference room keys, etc) Dayna, in sales, was very communicative and responsive to any questions and concerns we had. We made arrangements to have lunch brought in each day and were not disappointed. The food was great.

If you have an engagement in the downtown area, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acs12810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear asc12810,
Thank You for your recommendation. We all look forward to your future stay with us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a reward stay. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel, just don't choose it unless you get a good rate. You get a typical motel type room and apart from the flat screen TV it had a 80s feel. The welcome at check in was a touch indifferent, I did not get the welcome as a IHG member that is often the case at other IHG hotels. Hotel looked as if it has been given a lick of paint recently, shame they didn't bother to remove the masking tape from some areas! Some of the public areas around elevator lobbies were a bit tired and grubby. It's a 15 minute walk from downtown so well located. No perceptible traffic noise but the AC unit in the room was very noisy. So I could only rate as very average....don't pay too much or your expectations will be dashed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC4008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear CC4008,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at this property in early February for 1 night with my wife and 2 yr old daughter. We found this property online through a hotel search website, but was unfamiliar with the property or the neighborhood. Truth be told, the hotel is located in a heavy traffic neighborhood and does not give a lot of confidence for peace and quiet or high quality. Much to our surprise, the rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious and we heard no noise from the heavy road traffic outside of our room.

This is a great hotel for business travelers or for baseball fans traveling to see spring training. I learned that the MN Twins stadium was a short walk away from the hotel.

We were very pleased and surprised at the quality of the hotel property and room, but the neighborhood does leave something to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Carlos F
Thank You for your valuable feedback. Our entire team look forward to your visit next season.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were very excited to see the level of service, we were looking for something at the beach but ended up staying at this beautiful hotel, the location is ok but the service by hotel staff is excellent, the beach is not too far if you are driving, the bus service and trolley is enjoyable, it may take longer time but you can enjoy the city ride. The downtown was few blocks and it was like small town, the hotel offered shuttle services upon request. Overall it was a great stay, we will come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand D, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank You for your review and appreciation, It is great to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations, We look forward to your future stay with us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#29 of 59 in Fort Myers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 59 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfront
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison at Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison at Midtown

Property: Edison at Midtown
Address: 2431 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edison at Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edison at Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing