We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sue223”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent 8 days at this hotel. We had a wonderful experience. I can't say enough nice things about it. The hotel was immaculate. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was exceptional. The manager Anand, always had a smile and a greeting for us. Mike the food and beverage manager was pleasant and accommodating. The new restaurant was wonderful. The food was good and reasonably priced. However, Jerry Burgess in the restaurant was the shining star. He was fantastic. He was efficient and would do anything he could for you. He always had a smile to greet you. He made my husband and I, and everyone that came into the restrauant feel like we were royalty. He is one ot the nicest, most caring and sincere people that I have ever met. The hotel is really fortunate to have an employee that you can see takes his job seriously and at the same time enjoys the people he works with and his customers. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    97
    57
    17
    24
See reviews for
96
96
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I would never stay in a hotel that was not an upscale five-star resort However coming to a baseball tournament The team stayed in the Holiday Inn. The hotel accommodations were decent but the restaurants server Jerry Burgess Made this place better then the Ritz- Carlton. He was fabulous and Deserves a medal deserves a medal

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The stay was nice hotel was clean the pool could have been cleaner. The food was good and our waiter was the best so friendly and personable and very polite. His name was Jerry Burgess it almost felt as if we knew him for years.i dont know what his salary is but he definetly deserves a raise because you dont find good people like him very often. over all value of this stay was very fare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Really nice hotel and really amazing staff. I worked with the sales department to coordinate a group trip here with my work. Everyone had a great time and pleasant experience. The sales team was extremely helpful and went out of way to make sure everything went smooth for our trip. Would definitely return- planning a personal trip back this winter with my family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Last minute unexpected stay...what I got on Priceline. Not worth the $80 I shelled out IMO. The hotel is under some renovation....ALL floors are tile....broken tiles in the hallway covered with a rug. Our shower had extensive mildew in the grout. When asked by the most friendly waiter at breakfast how our room was (who also insisted we tell him the truth as he said he had been tasked by the manager to ask), I told him about the dirty shower. He said he'd have someone clean it. It didn't happen. The bolt on our (1st floor) room was not working and I let the desk know who said they'd have someone look at it that day. It was never fixed either. Breakfast was good and a fair price. That was the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetE212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear JanetE212,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am happy that you like dour breakfast. On the other hand, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with your room and bathroom. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My Family and I had a pleasant trip. Very cold for this time of year but we managed. We found the hotel very clean and Breakfast was purchased as part of the stay. The restaurant was under construction so we had breakfast in the Edison Room. Restaurant attendant Jerry Burgess was very personable and very a tentative to the needs of the customers. I do see some of the comments provided by others and would have to agree that the location of the hotel is not in the nicest section of town; however all of the attractions such as the Edison House, Centennial Park, and JC Cruise are all within a 1/2 mile from the hotel. If you pull out of the hotel and go to the left and go about 1 mile there are many restaurants to chose from as well as a mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as it appeared from the description that it was in the centre of downtown Fort Myers - which it may well have been but it was on the very busy Highway 41 and with no restaurants or attractions within a short walking distance. When we arrived to check in there was no Restaurant as this was being renovated, this was not mentioned on the web site. Hence we were unable to get a sandwich or anything to eat. A temporary restaurant was in operation in what looked like a conference room, no windows very gloomy. We spoke to the Manager and told him we were not satisfied as the hotel was not as described on the web site and he was extremely understanding and offered to cancel our reservation at no cost - this we really appreciated as we had booked with Booking.com.
This is not a hotel to stay in if you want to be able to walk out for a meal or entertainment. Cannot comment on the cleanliness etc of the room

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Elizabeth W,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#31 of 59 in Fort Myers
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfront
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Myers- The Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area

Property: Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
Address: 2431 S. Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Old-World Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing