We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience and hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edison at Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edison at Midtown
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience and hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Really nice hotel and really amazing staff. I worked with the sales department to coordinate a group trip here with my work. Everyone had a great time and pleasant experience. The sales team was extremely helpful and went out of way to make sure everything went smooth for our trip. Would definitely return- planning a personal trip back this winter with my family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    96
    54
    17
    22
See reviews for
92
93
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Last minute unexpected stay...what I got on Priceline. Not worth the $80 I shelled out IMO. The hotel is under some renovation....ALL floors are tile....broken tiles in the hallway covered with a rug. Our shower had extensive mildew in the grout. When asked by the most friendly waiter at breakfast how our room was (who also insisted we tell him the truth as he said he had been tasked by the manager to ask), I told him about the dirty shower. He said he'd have someone clean it. It didn't happen. The bolt on our (1st floor) room was not working and I let the desk know who said they'd have someone look at it that day. It was never fixed either. Breakfast was good and a fair price. That was the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetE212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear JanetE212,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am happy that you like dour breakfast. On the other hand, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with your room and bathroom. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My Family and I had a pleasant trip. Very cold for this time of year but we managed. We found the hotel very clean and Breakfast was purchased as part of the stay. The restaurant was under construction so we had breakfast in the Edison Room. Restaurant attendant Jerry Burgess was very personable and very a tentative to the needs of the customers. I do see some of the comments provided by others and would have to agree that the location of the hotel is not in the nicest section of town; however all of the attractions such as the Edison House, Centennial Park, and JC Cruise are all within a 1/2 mile from the hotel. If you pull out of the hotel and go to the left and go about 1 mile there are many restaurants to chose from as well as a mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as it appeared from the description that it was in the centre of downtown Fort Myers - which it may well have been but it was on the very busy Highway 41 and with no restaurants or attractions within a short walking distance. When we arrived to check in there was no Restaurant as this was being renovated, this was not mentioned on the web site. Hence we were unable to get a sandwich or anything to eat. A temporary restaurant was in operation in what looked like a conference room, no windows very gloomy. We spoke to the Manager and told him we were not satisfied as the hotel was not as described on the web site and he was extremely understanding and offered to cancel our reservation at no cost - this we really appreciated as we had booked with Booking.com.
This is not a hotel to stay in if you want to be able to walk out for a meal or entertainment. Cannot comment on the cleanliness etc of the room

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Elizabeth W,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If Downtown Historic means a Dunkin Donuts and a CVS I could have stayed home. Booked rooms 3 months ago and was given handicapped rooms and from then on it was downhill but I won't keep you.Would NEVER recommend

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Kathleen M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had regarding your room request. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this Holiday Inn. The bar/restaurant is under renovation but the rest of the hotel is done and wonderful. Great value for the cost, we made this hotel our home for a week. The staff bent over backward to help us with our plans and arrangements. The managers were also wonderful to visit with and hear about the area. We felt that we were centrally located on a road with easy access so it was a great place to leave and come back from.
We would highly recommend this property to the visitors to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 443Jane330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great experience here at the Holiday Inn!! Everyone on staff was great! The daily cleaning of the rooms was amazing as well! I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. Even though the restaurant was under renovations (but will open in the next few weeks), they still provided good tasting food and service. Estefania who takes care of sales there was just AMAZING!! We had a baseball team and lots of parents/family that wanted to support them and we were all very pleased at how smoothly things were handled and they were very accommodating if people wanted to extend their stay. If there were things missing or needed in the rooms they were quick to respond. There are tons of great restaurants close by and conveniently located next to a Dunkin Donuts and CVS in case you need things.
Very, very pleased by our stay here and would recommend this to anyone needing a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel26unc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#30 of 58 in Fort Myers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfront
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison at Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison at Midtown

Property: Edison at Midtown
Address: 2431 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edison at Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edison at Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing