We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently re-modeled and very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Edison at Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edison at Midtown
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recently re-modeled and very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was recently re-modeled. Very clean, almost sterile look. Not a lot of ambience. But, it is very clean and the beds are comfortable. It's downtown, near Lee memorial hospital and about 4 blocks off the river. Free sit-down breakfast was very good. All of the employees were very helpful. Dunkin Donuts in the front parking lot. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I75burner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    96
    54
    17
    22
See reviews for
92
93
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This property was reserved for us by another travel companion. We were able to get a restful night's sleep once we got a room that was suitable. The first room we were given had not been completely cleaned by the housekeeping staff. I think it was a simple tagging mistake, but it did take us a little extra effort to get into our room. The front desk staff was very apologetic, and was very quick in getting the issue resolved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finch2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Renovation of the fourth and the third floors are complete and nicely done. The room was nicely appointed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would recommend this motel for those who want to visit the Edison & Ford estate. Breakfast was delicious, and Ally the waitress was friendly and helpful.

The coupon for the menu order breakfast went a long with the price. Don't forget to ask for the $20 coupon.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

What a totally unexpected find. Excellent service. Clean updated rooms. Efficient room service with delicious food. This is a throw back to the way Holiday Inns were run when I was a kid in the sixties. HIGHLY recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIANB_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic on a trip through Florida. It was not what I would consider Historic Downtown. The location was not that great. They are currently under renovations so I am sure they will be updating things. The room was a good size. The shower had a nice big shelf for our shampoo, conditioner, etc. The bad part about the shower was that it had a partial glass shower door & a shower curtain for the back part. The water just poured out onto the floor. We had to use all of our towels to soak it up. The HVAC unit was extremely loud & woke us up throughout the night. It would not keep the room at a constant temperature. We traveled with our 2 Yorkies. They are pet friendly however there were not any marked areas to walk your pet & no pet clean-up station so you can imagine the rest! I did like that the room we were in was tiled. That is much cleaner than carpet when staying in pet rooms. Overall the hotel was average. We did not deal with the hotel staff other than at check-in & they were fairly friendly. We would probably chose a better location next time we are in Fort Myers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear CrystalCamacho,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the location of our hotel. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel after a family get-together in Sanibel. Worried having read other reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all extremely pleasant, especially Jen at the front desk and the waitress in the Grille. All went out of their way to make our stay special and we felt very welcome. It is on the main road, which is unattractive, however we got the free shuttle to the "historic" part of town - a five minute drive at most - downtown is full of eclectic stores and outdoor cafes (again with super pleasant staff). There is also the waterfront with a small marina. The hotel room was clean, beds comfortable and the pool area lovely. Thanks Holiday Inn staff:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
332 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel itself is not too bad, I've been stuck in much worse. Unfortunately the surrounding area is terrible. If this is "Historic Fort Meyers", they have a LOT of work to do.

The staff was very accomodating as we had to change rooms to get a different bedding configuration after check in. One of the few bright spots of the stay.

The room was fairly clean, with some updating. The Dunkin Donuts next door was handy.

There is NO reason to stay in this part of town. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
YepBeenThere,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is unfortunate the area surrounding the hotel affected your experience. I am please to see aside from our location you did enjoy your stay. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#30 of 58 in Fort Myers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfront
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison at Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison at Midtown

Property: Edison at Midtown
Address: 2431 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edison at Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edison at Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing