We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Good”
Review of Elephant Bar Restaurant - CLOSED

Elephant Bar Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Still Good”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had made a reservation for a group of 12 at this establishment last Friday for 5:45PM. We arrived at 5:15. The restaurant was less than 1/2 full. The hostess stated that we were 1/2 hr early. They were slow in setting up a table for us. Finally after 15 minutes a table was ready. There was a coupon for 2 meals with an appetizer or dessert for $20. We had the Chicken lettuce wrap appetizer which was very good. There were 4 pieces of lettuce and plenty of chicken. The chicken was served over a large red cabbage leaf. For entree we had the salmon which was served with brown rice & veggies, very good. The Korean Chicken & Kona rib combo was excellent. The chicken was served with a delicious dipping sauce and the meat fell off the bones on the ribs. An excellent value for $20. We ordered the 4 combo dessert for $8 which was enough to share with 3 others. After a slow start, the service was quick after we were seated and the meal a memorable one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    18
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“ANOTHER AVERAGE CHAIN RESTAURANT”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch while visiting the Edison Mall. We continue to occasionally brave this mall although a murder occurred in the parking lot here a few months ago.

We each had the jambalaya and found it to be edible, but extremely average. There was no spark or pizazz. It was bland with almost no heat and the sausage was in miniscule cubes, barely discernible to the eye and certainly not to the palate. The shrimp (farm raised in Asia) was odd; some were quite good, while others were firm & mealy and not at all appetizing.

Location - 4 STARS
Service - 3 STARS
Food - 2 1/2 STARS
Value - 3 STARS
Ambiance/Decor - 4 STARS
Noise Level - 2 STARS (loud)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Welcome surprise.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

While on vacation on Ft Myers Beach we had the chance to go off island due to a poor beach day, pouring rain, liquid sunshine you might call it.
We ventured out to the large Edison Mall, arguably the grandest in the area. As time went on we began to feel hungry so sought out some place to grab some lunch. There was a large food court inside the mall with all the usual suspects, none of which met our tastes, but we found a place outside the mall, the" Elephant Bar", an unusual name so we went in.
There was a nice ambiance. To he place, well appointed with several seating choices.
After talking with the waitress we decided on a appetizer of Parmesan crusted green beans, and as our mains, I ordered the Vietnamese salad shrimp rolls and my spouse tried he Fire Grilled chicken lettuce wrap. The green beans were a new experience for us and came with a Cajun dipping sauce that worked perfectly with them. The shrimp rolls were quite tasty and came on a bed of mixed greens with mango bites and two sauces to put on it, one a creamy peanut sauce, the other a pungent soy based type, both were good and I alternated trying them out.
The other entree was a chopped chicken mixture, with a smoky fire grilled flavor , accompanied with a wedge of fresh iceberg lettuce , really flavorful and quite plentiful in size.
It was a wonderful surprise to find this place, not really searching it out but just stumbling upon it.
I would not venture to say it was the most delicious meal we ever had, but it was quite tasty and we thought reasonably priced. If ever we happen across one of these places again we will indeed give it another try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“No Ivory Tower”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The food is average at best. I has the Louie salad as the other 9 pages of the menu were not that appealing. Although this is listed as a Japanese restaurant I don't believe the restaurant knows what type it is. They need to slim down the menu and choose a genre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok not great just ok”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Been there many times & every time the same just ok. Asked questions about menu was told wrong info. Was told menu is wrong but food came out the way the menu stated. Server seemed out there I guess you can say. Messed up two out of the three orders given to her. Manager came by asked how everything was, ok I said, he replied didn't sound convincing then walked away. Beer was kinda cold and there craft beer selection sucks. Food was average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatsoutalot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing