We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were surprised to find a large, clean room- everything looked new- with a little kitchen area. It had a full-size refrigerator, stovetop with two burners, coffee, and a little work area with a desk and two chairs. The bathroom was large and clean as well.

We found a coupon that made the room less than $50, and were amazed at what we got for that price. There's a fitness room and laundry on site as well as a pool that we didn't use. A small concession area provided snacks and sundries for purchase. I would definitely come back here, and wish there were a hotel like this in every place I went on vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelfan_gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2010

Thank you Travelfan for such a great review.!! The suites are very spacious, a welcomed suprise to many guests that are used to staying at hotels with just a bed and a tv. We were so glad to have you here as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Fort Myers! We have a great stock of snacks and goodies in our 24 hour sundry shoppe and change the selection regularly. So happy that having that shoppe worked out for you.
Remember that we are part of the Holiday Inn family of hotels and that you can earn Priority Club point with every night's stay...adding even more value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 727 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to a fortnight's holiday on Captiva.Island. This was an excellent choice. The self- catering family room was spacious, clean and very well equipped. All the Reception Staff were helpful, cheerfull and friendly. Location was ideal for us - quiet but just off Summerlin Road. Only 10 minutes to Publix/Walmart. Plenty of on-site parking and our room overlooked the small lake at the back complete will alligators, turtles and bird-life. The free coffe and reasonably priced "Supply ro hotelom" downstairs was a bonus. I would recommend this and would definitely stay again.EXcellent all-round and very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mac-meryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are so glad that your stay at our hotel was such a great part of your vacation! All of our spacious suites give you more room and convenient amenities than staying at a non-suite hotel. Being mintues to the beaches, downtown or shopping, our location provides our guests with the best access to everything you need. So close to everything, yet a deep breath away! We look forward to welcoming you back to your next vacation in paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This extended stay hotel is not just for extended stayers. This hotel has large suites and one-bedroom accomodations with full kitchens, flat screen LG Televisions, Large Bathroom, plenty of closet space and an exceptionall friendly staff.
It also has a large swimming pool, Barbeque Grill, Excercise Room, Free Washer and Dryer, Wi-Fi and the Candlewood Cupboard for those essentials you forgot to pack or snacks that you or your family may want to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heart1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Greetings from the west coast! So glad you made your way to our Candlewood Suites while spending time in Fort Myers. When guests stay here for the first time, it really is so much fun to to talk to them about all the amenities we have like the free laundry, heated pool, 24 hour market and free dvd movie lending. These conveniences add so much to your stay, even if you're just here for a few nights. We are so glad you got the chance to take advantage of everything and hope you enjoyed the short drive from the hotel to the area beaches. Don't forget that because we are in the family of Holiday Inn hotels that you earn Priority Club Points & Rewards for each stay! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Staff was so very friendly, beautful rooms that everything you neec to feel like home, only better . Great location close to beach and shopping, great Value. I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TPGOTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Thank you kindly for such a wonderful review! We truly enjoy what we do and are so happy that our friendly staff greated and treated you with a smile! The Candlewood Suites slogan is "Consider Us Home" and your comments of feeling like home but only better, are great to read. The free guest laundry, oversized living room, 24 hour Cupboard, heated pool and free dvd movies are just some of the things we offer to welcome guests and create that Home Away from Home environment. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We chose Candlewood Suites because we had a coupon from a travel brochure. We were pleasantly surprised . It is more a place for a longer stay , with fully equipped kitchen , but we enjoyed our one night there (and took advantage of the free laundry) There is no breakfast (near many restaurants) , pool,or daily housekeeping service. The hotel was new, attractive,very clean in all areas with spacious rooms.There is a exercise room,free laundry (6 machines!) and a shop to purchase food and other items. It is located far off the busy road and was very quiet. Short drive to either Fort Meyers a or Sanibel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanCTConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2010

Dear Guest: We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do all that we can to exceed our guests expectations by offering extraordinary service. We hope on your next trip you be sure to take advantage of our beautiful outdoor pool. Thank you again for choosing the Candlewood Suites Ft.Myers/Sanibel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This place is just great. It has been my home for the past month. The rooms: CLEAN! Public Areas: SPOTLESS! The Staff: FRIENDLY! The entire property is like BRAND NEW! I could not have asked for better accommodations in an extended. I travel frequently and consider Fort Myers Candlewood Suites amongst the BEST in QUALITY and SERVICE! Thank you for making my stay so nice!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

Wow! What a great review! We were just as happy to have you here! We know you had choices for your extended stay and we couldn't be more happy to be your number #1 pick! Thank you for the great compliments on our guest service team. Their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction keep the hotel running smoothly and looking great. Enjoy your Priority Club Points & Rewards and we hope to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I travel frequently on business to the Ft. Myers area and love to stay at this hotel. It is always clean and the staff is very friendly.

The hotel is located in a nice, safe area with restuarants, beaches and supermarkets close by.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmitchell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Thank you! We love having you here just as much and always look forward to your next visit. Our suites are set up perfectly to give you the option of getting work done with our high speed wireless internet or taking some time to relax and watch a free dvd movie from your recliner. Looking forward to welcoming you back "home" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,091 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: $70 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Fort Myers and Sanibel Island has to offer at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers-Sanibel Gateway Hotel. The hotel is ideal for relocation apartment style living without the hassles of long term leases. Our condominium style hotel suites offer all of the amenities you will need for a weekend Ft. Myers or Sanibel Island Beach getaway or long-term lease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing