We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husband's Birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Husband's Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

I gave my husband hockey game tickets for his birthday and we decided we would like to stay overnight, rather than driving late at night. I called the Candlewood that morning and was able to get a great rate of $51. The cheapest rate on line was $66. We were quite surprised with how nice this little hotel is. We were 1/2 hour early for check in and our room wasn't ready yet. The front desk clerk told us we could wait in the livingroom. We went to the livingroom which was quite nice with a computer and large screen TV and lots of magazines and comfortable furniture. Our room was ready 20 minutes later. The room is not large, but the amenities were great. We had a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. There were pots and pans and dishes and silverware. The bed (queen)was extremely comfotable.
Hotel is right near the bridge to Sanibel and not far from Ft Myers Beach.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    202
    56
    31
    23
See reviews for
192
277
56
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Free laundry, free DVD's to check out, free books from their library, free in room internet and of course, extremely clean. Stayed two nights at the candlewood suites for $51/night on Priceline. The hotel looked and felt brand new. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room had all the bells and whistles and all the appliances worked great and were very clean. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skrobo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

It had everything we needed. Was clean, quiet and close to everything! Stayed for New Year's Eve weekend and if our new year turns out half as wonderful as our weekend, it will be fabulous! Thank you Candlewood Suites! Natalie

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinthesun1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel was ultra clean, comfortable...the staff is courteous and attentive.
I will definitely stay here again. I've stayed in places that weren't half as nice, for twice the money...a great value!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerfortheArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stay here whenever we want to relax and spend the days in Sanibel or anywhere south of there. We do not mind driving to our destinations in order to have a nice, clean, quiet hotel to come home to.
Rooms are large and clean.
Staff is absolutely wonderful. We feel like we are staying with friends each time we stop here.
This is by far my favorite hotel in this area.
5 Stars from me.
B. Mooney

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkinsmooney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just spent a week at the Candlewood Suites with my family. Very nice new hotel. The staff and general manager were very helpful and friendly.

DVD's are free of charge to use. There is no charge to park your car. (Not sure if someone confused the extra $10 a day with state and local taxes) Free coffee 24 hours a day.

Shingi goes above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay pleasant. Extra towels, silver ware, last minute room cleaning, late check out, etc. - just ask her.

No oven in the kitchenette but a toaster oven can be checked out at no charge. There is also a grill by the pool.

Washer and dryer are free. Detergent can be purchased for $1.

If you want a "suite"; just click on suites and amenities tab on the website. Reserve the 1 or 2 room. The website clearly shows the layout of the rooms so you shouldn't be surprised.

Great value for $84 a night at Christmas time.

The only complaint is they don't have a hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DetroitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krissygildersleeve, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Dear Dave.
We are happy that you chose the Candlewood Suites Fort Meyers Sanibel/ Gateway and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was pleasant and that you were able to take advantage of our free DVD usage. Maybe on your next visit you could take advantage of some of our nearby recreational amenities such as boat and scooter/ moped rentals.Or you might take a swim in our pool. Again we appreciate your choosing the Candlewood Suites Fort Meyers Sanibel/Gateway and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

Just checked out of this wonderful hotel this morning; writing the review from my mother's house. I really dont know where to begin. Check in fast and friendly...The room was just perfect. roomy with stove top, fridge, the best a/c unit i have ever seen. Bathroom door accomodates wheelchairs. The room was spotless. On the first floor there is a laundrymat, gym, a sundries mini store and a living room area with large screen tv. Pool was nicely heated, was in the 50s outside and pool stayed warm....The staff were very friendly on all shifts; the hotel manager was very visual and very much involved in the running of the hotel. I go to Fort Myers frequently and this is by far the best of them all!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2BIGBOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Marketing at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
We Want to Thank You for choosing the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers Sanibel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Our guests are our number one proprity and we strive to make everyone feel at home. We hope you had a chance to check out our nearby attractions such as Ft. Myers Beach or Captiva Island just minutes away. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers Sanibel and hope that you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
10.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing